Cranberry Chutney Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
This is amazing with the Meat Pie (Tortier) recipe! I made it in my bread machine on the jam cycle! So easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I love this recipe. To add a little more zing, as if you needed it, line your bowl with cream cheese. I use my black bowl, and there is the black, white, and red in the center visual. It is beautiful and tasty! It's great to spread on crackers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Loved this recipe! Everyone who has tried it loved it too! I made it for a gathering of 16 and another of 21, all the women wanted the recipe. Big hit. The only thing I changed was the amount of clove, I only used 1/4 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Fairfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I made this for Recipe Group. I cut the recipe in half but still used a whole apple. Because I mis-read the directions, I added the apple in at the beginning rather than the end of the cooking process. It still turned out great! We enjoyed the contrast of flavors; sweet, tart and spicy. I made it the day before Thanksgiving and enjoyed the flavor more after it sat in the fridge overnight. Visually, it was a very pretty addition to our Thanksgiving table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bambam
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I really liked this recipe. With all the spices it involves it's full of bold, deep layers of flavor. The only thing I changed was added an extra apple and 1/2 cup of orange juice. Overall though a really great recipe! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Question: who thinks that this chutney recipe would be good on sandwich filled with Gouda cheese and turkey?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Made this for Recipe Group...I thought this was very good! I only had 1 bag of cranberries, which was about 3 cups, so I adjusted the recipe accordingly (still used 1 apple). This does have a spiciness to it, but I thought it was nice w/ the tart cranberries. It's funny that Linda mentioned in her review about adding the orange zest, b/c that's what I did, and it was a nice compliment to the other flavors. I also liked the thickness of this, but, as Linda also mentioned, mine cooked in less time than stated, so keep an eye on it. We are 'canned' cranberry sauce people, but I had fun making this and would do so again. Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
This chutney has a deep spicy almost exotic flavor unlike the bright fruity tart taste of traditional cranberry sauce. It's a nice change but the amount of cinnamon and spices, even though I like the flavor, felt like it left a coating on my tongue and tasted overcooked. My cranberries cooked in about 12 minutes and next time I make this I will cut back at least the cinnamon to 1.5 teaspoons (to start) and add the spices when I add the apples. I could see adding orange zest to this too. (recipe made for *RECIPE GROUP*).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
way to much clove
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States