Cranberry Cheese Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2001
This is absolutely decadent! I made a slight change after the first time I made the recipe. I wanted more cranberry sauce so I added a second can, doubled the corn starch, and omitted the brown sugar that was added to the cranberry sauce to make it a little more tart! But the basic recipe is incredible! I've taken it to 3 parties so far and it always gets gobbled up first and gets rave reviews! Thanks for my new favorite recipe!--Kim Johnston
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
These are absolutely delicious! I didn't have any whole cranberry sauce, so I used a can of jellied cranberry sauce and omitted the corn starch. They were great! Reminds me of the raspberry cheese bars that I make. You could also use any flavor of jam or preserves without the corn starch and extra brown sugar..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOURMETMOMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawson, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lathrop, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Needed more cranberries! It was good, but tasted more like a cheese cake with strudle on top. I would add another can of cranberry sauce as 1 only left blobs in the middle to mix in, not enough to make an actual layer. Very tasty way to use up left over cranberry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VIXIERA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mill Creek, Washington, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
These are amazing. The only thing I changed is I made homemade cranberry sauce the night before and chilled it overnight. I added the cornstarch and brown sugar just before layering it ontop of the cream cheese layer. Awesome . . .absolutely awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATLMICHELLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
For the first time I made it very close to the original... I substituted orange juice for lemon (its all I had), added a little bit of cinnamon to the crumble, and did not put more sugar in the cranberry sauce, I also added an egg to the cream cheese filling (this helped it to set and give a richer flavor). To make this a 4-5 star for me and my family I'd double the cream cheese filling. My dh and I agreed there were enough cranberries, but there was too much crust and not enough cream cheese filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilgore, Texas, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
The filling for this recipe is exactly the same as for "Cranberry Crumb Pie" on this site. Simply excellent. I made my own sweetened condensed milk (blend together 1c. milk powder, 3 tbsp butter, 1/3 c. hot water, 2/3 c. sugar) and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tia the Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I made these for Christmas and they turned out fantastic. I did double the cranberry sauce mixture like some had suggested, because I too like more of the tart/fruit flavor. Everyone raved about these, so I'm sure I'll be making again. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Delightful! I followed KIMIRAEJ's suggestion and added a second can of cranberries, doubled the corn starch, and omitted the brown sugar that was to have been added to the berries. I was very pleased with the outcome. I didn't find them as tart (as I would've wished) but my husband felt there was a nice extra zing there! As per other reviewers I also made sure to let the cranberries "peek through" the oatmeal topping. Very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mxmarg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
I took these bars to a school bake sale and everyone wanted the recipe. They don't look like anything special, but one bite will win you over! Next time, I'm going to leave less crumb mixture for the topping and see if the cranberry bubbles up through for a little more colour. These are divine!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fergus, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I can't beleive this recipe didn't get better reviews. I used huckleberries in place of cranberries. I imagine that blueberries are great too. But, this recipe with huckleberries is amazing. I can never seem to make enough of these. Thank-you so much for this recipe. It is definately a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States