Cranberry Cheese Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2001
I found, and made, this recipe because I needed to use a can of cranberry sauce that I had opened. The preparations and the bars turned out as expected, and they were quite delicious!...like mini cheesecakes, but better! I'd opt for these over cheesecake with canned cherry topping any day! I only wish they were low in fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2001
This is absolutely decadent! I made a slight change after the first time I made the recipe. I wanted more cranberry sauce so I added a second can, doubled the corn starch, and omitted the brown sugar that was added to the cranberry sauce to make it a little more tart! But the basic recipe is incredible! I've taken it to 3 parties so far and it always gets gobbled up first and gets rave reviews! Thanks for my new favorite recipe!--Kim Johnston
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
YUMMY!! These were sooo delicious!! I brought them home for Christmas and everyone is asking for the recipe! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worthington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
These are absolutely delicious! I didn't have any whole cranberry sauce, so I used a can of jellied cranberry sauce and omitted the corn starch. They were great! Reminds me of the raspberry cheese bars that I make. You could also use any flavor of jam or preserves without the corn starch and extra brown sugar..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOURMETMOMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawson, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lathrop, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
These were OK. Just OK. I could hardly wait for them to come out of the oven...but was disappointed when I tried them. They were pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
This was wonderful! I used real butter, put this in a large jelly roll pan, and doubled the recipe. I even added an extra cream cheese, didn't like it too sweet with the sweetened condensed milk. I cut them into little finger size rectangles, chilled and they stayed crispy until ready to serve. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2004
I used raspberry preserves instead of the cranberry sauce (didn't add cornstarch or brownsugar), and it was a very good flavor. the bottom crust was a little crumbly at first, but the more it sat in the fridge, the better these bars seemed to hold together. I also drizzled semi-sweet chocolate mixed with a little espresso over the bars in a criss-crsos pattern, very pretty and very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Needed more cranberries! It was good, but tasted more like a cheese cake with strudle on top. I would add another can of cranberry sauce as 1 only left blobs in the middle to mix in, not enough to make an actual layer. Very tasty way to use up left over cranberry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VIXIERA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mill Creek, Washington, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
This is a good recipe, they come out perfect and you can use different fruit if you prefer. I will try it with blueberry pie filling next time in place of the cranberries. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I can't beleive this recipe didn't get better reviews. I used huckleberries in place of cranberries. I imagine that blueberries are great too. But, this recipe with huckleberries is amazing. I can never seem to make enough of these. Thank-you so much for this recipe. It is definately a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States