Cranberry Cheese Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Well Peggy I can't imagine why anyone wouldn't appreciate this wonderful recipe you have shared. My boyfriend whom loves cheesecake and cranberries was yumming all the way through this delightful desert. We call it a desert because Garry is eating it by the slab. It is a pleasant change,to the norm. I cooked my own cranberries which I had a 500ml bottle on hand and I used the whole bottle, I just added what the recipe called for; the B sugar and cornstarch. YUMMY. Here is a big fat 5 stars for you Peggy. Thank you from Nova Scotia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Very tasty but crumbly and difficult to get out of pan in one piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
For the first time I made it very close to the original... I substituted orange juice for lemon (its all I had), added a little bit of cinnamon to the crumble, and did not put more sugar in the cranberry sauce, I also added an egg to the cream cheese filling (this helped it to set and give a richer flavor). To make this a 4-5 star for me and my family I'd double the cream cheese filling. My dh and I agreed there were enough cranberries, but there was too much crust and not enough cream cheese filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilgore, Texas, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Delightful! I followed KIMIRAEJ's suggestion and added a second can of cranberries, doubled the corn starch, and omitted the brown sugar that was to have been added to the berries. I was very pleased with the outcome. I didn't find them as tart (as I would've wished) but my husband felt there was a nice extra zing there! As per other reviewers I also made sure to let the cranberries "peek through" the oatmeal topping. Very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mxmarg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
These were alright. I was disappointed with the filling and I thought there was a bit too much lemon flavor. I won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKendra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milo, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
Delicious prepared just as instructed. I like my bars and topping thick so I did prepare it in a 9 x 6" pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DAWNSCOTT
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
Peggy this was really good. I took it to Relay for Life this weekend and everyone loved it. I doubled the recipe and added in an extra can of cranberry sauce. This is really good. Thanks and I will definitely be making this again. I forgot to say that I mixed the cranberry sauce and whole cranberry sauce on this. It has been years and it still is so good. I have been thinking of adding some cinnamon or allspice in the crumb mixture for a different flavor. Thanks again Peggy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNSCOTT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Xenia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
These are wonderful! I used apricot preserves instead of the cranberries and it was delicious. Very easy to make, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
I took these bars to a school bake sale and everyone wanted the recipe. They don't look like anything special, but one bite will win you over! Next time, I'm going to leave less crumb mixture for the topping and see if the cranberry bubbles up through for a little more colour. These are divine!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fergus, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I can't beleive this recipe didn't get better reviews. I used huckleberries in place of cranberries. I imagine that blueberries are great too. But, this recipe with huckleberries is amazing. I can never seem to make enough of these. Thank-you so much for this recipe. It is definately a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States