Cranberry-Cardamom Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
These are some tasty muffins! Absolutely delicious! I was worried that they wouldn't turn out because I scaled the recipe all the way down to 6 servings (I'm the only muffin eater in the house), but the recipe held up great! I also did not have sour cream, so I used 1/2 cup of milk instead and that worked just perfectly. All I can say is YUM! Thank you SO much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
I love them....I used the orange flavored crasins the second time just to see how it tasted and OMG they were so good. Even the kids eat them up (with or without the orange crasins)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I cut the recipe in half and used one whole orange, which I liked. I prefer sweeter muffins, so I sprinkled a sugar and cardamom combination on top, which I believe made the muffin even better. I was able to easily veganize this recipe too, using Toffuti sour cream and soy vanilla yogurt as my egg substitute, in addition to soy butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenMick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
the batter on these is REALLY THICK! they cooked up beautifully & rose very high. i only had 1 1/2 cups of sour cream, so i added 1/2 cup plain, full fat yogurt. also, i added a bit more frozen cranberries, which i chopped up a bit with a food processor. to make them a little healthier, i replaced 1 1/2 cups of the flour with whole wheat. and to give them more flavor, i doubled the cardamom and added the zest from one orange. Delicious! my 16-month old can't get enough! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trollmother

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I love these! I couldn't find fresh or frozen cranberries so I used frozen blueberries. Cut the recipe in half but used all of the cardamom. The batter was really thick and I almost added some milk but decided to go for it. I'm glad I did but the blueberries fell apart while trying to stir. Next time I will search out cranberries. I am sure the hold together better. Even though they are blue these muffins are very moist & full of flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
These are really delicious. I tasted one when they first came out of the oven, but wasn't too impressed. I think they need to sit for a little bit to let all the flavors meld. After a few hours you could really taste the cardamom, and they were so yummy. I cut the recipe in half, doulbed the cardamom, and used part whole wheat pastry flour. I also used one full cup of cranberries. After they were cooled, I made a simple glaze of powdered sugar and milk and dipped the tops into that. These looked beautiful and rose high, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
The flavor of these is good, but they really flatten out when I make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
The best muffins I have made so far! Just the right amount of everything. I only cut down the sugar a bit to match our tastes. My toddler and his friends just loved it!!!Thank you Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
This is a great recipe with just the right amount of sugar to complement the tartness of the cranberries, and the sour cream makes it moist. I would add more cardamom, but that is personal preference--it adds a such a nice warm spiciness. I added some orange extract, and made it even better! Thank you for sharing, Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States