Cranberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2000
This recipe was easy, but the presentation was a huge disappointment. The frosting was much too soft to support the cake and went all over the place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCANDLAND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2001
THIS IS A VERRY DIFFERENT CAKE. VERRY GOOD. MY GRAND CHILDREN COULDN'T GET ENOUGH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2001
This was super easy. I could not find cranberry applesauce in the store so I mixed canned cranberries with applesauce. I am sure the use of the applesauce instead of oil makes the cake slightly lower in fat. I anticipated the frosting being overly soft...but it wasn't. I used it to frost the entire cake....and it held up fine. I used the jellied cranberry sauce for the frosting not the kind with the whole berries....maybe this made the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
I thought the cake was very good and so did others I served it too. I also felt the "frosting" was not very thick even though I did use the whole cranberry sauce, but I carefully spooned it on the first layer so it partially ran down the sides and did the same on top. I did not use it all, so put the rest in a container and people could use more if they liked. I'm wondering, since it calls for 1/4 c. sugar, maybe use 1/4 c. powdered sugar, if that would firm it up a little. Might try that the next time. A very pretty cake for the holiays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2004
I made this cake for an office birthday everyone LOVED it!! it was so moist adn full of flavor. I am deff. going to make it again!! Oh I added 1 cup of water that little detail was left of the how much part of the ingred.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Marx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pontiac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
served this at christmas. everybody loved it. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
Excellent recipe! Everyone loved it-I decided to use 1/2 whole cranberry sauce and 1/2 jellied and I had no problems at all with the consistency of the frosting..It was so good in fact we used the leftover frosting on some other things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
Recipe is incomplete, no mention of water until directions. Frosting is soup, not "creamy or soft"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This is a delicious recipe, great for Christmas or Thanksgiving. One thing I found, the amount of water wasn't listed in ingredaints, si I started off with 1/4 c. water,and increased it little by little until it was the correct consistancy of cake batter-which eneded up being about 1c. total of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Patchogue, New York, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Really loved this cake, as did the rest of my family. I added 1/2 cup of Craisins to the batter because I wanted more cranberry flavor and it turned out great. The frosting is very soft but all I did was leave the cake in the fridge until I was ready to serve and the icing firmed up just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elyria, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sheldon, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States