Cranberry Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
About a week before you plan on serving it, prepare the meat and let marinade over night in the refrigerator. (I added fresh carrote and sliced onions) Cook it, let cool then slice it and freeze. Reheat in the cooking liquid. When heated take the liquid, cranberries, and vegetables and puree them. Cook the liquid down and you have a wonderful gravy to go with a delicious brisket! I made this for Thanksgiving along with my turkey. I have turkey left but not a bit of Brisket!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I've made this several times in the crockpot, and it's always a winner. This same sauce is also good baked on chicken. I bet it would even be good with pork. Very versatile and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
I have been making this recipe for awhile now. This recipe may sound strange, but is very, very good. The tangy and sweet are excellent together. So easy to make too. I usually make "Super Squash" with this recipe, which is found on this website as well. This is the best recipe I make, and I make alot of recipes. Definitely try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
I made this for New Year's day dinner & it was fantastic!!! I'm Texan & I still say this sauce is better than BBQ anytime! :o) I too used a can of whole cranberries instead of fresh. I sliced it, plated it & poured the sauce over the slices; served it w/ green bean bundles, black eyed peas, salad & cranberry ice (from allrecipes) for dessert. It will become our traditional Texan New Year's Day dinner............................................................................ I made this again for a church potluck where several other BBQ briskets were brought & just wanted to tell y'all that my cranberry brisket was chosen over all of their's 3 to 1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
This was great. I made it in a slow cooker and used a can of whole cranberry sauce instead of fresh cranberries. Also, I had a small bottle of Catalina dressing which turned out to be less than one cup, but that didn't seem to matter. There was plenty of sauce to serve over the meat and the kids loved it. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Perry Hall, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
I prepared it as a main dish for a pot luck party. EVERYONE asked for the recipe. It is very very easy to prepare. The serving amount of brisket recommended in the recipe is for 6, not 16 (unless you are using it as an appetizer). I had a group of 16, so I used a 6.5 pound brisket. I cooked it for 4 hours, which was plenty of time. I sliced the brisket then mixed it back into the sauce- it was delicious! I'm using this recipe again for another party. My husband was disappointed that there were no leftovers, so I'll to get an even bigger brisket next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
I made this recipe for a special dinner with my mom and her friend and we all agreed that it was excellent! I kept getting compliments all night...even after dinner was over! It was so different from any other brisket we have ever had. So easy and so good! I only made two changes to the original...I used a sweet honey catalina dressing and dried cranberries only because I couldn't find any fresh. It turned out wonderfully! Thank you so much for this YUMMY brisket!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia-Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
this recipe sounded and smelled delicious, but when it was done, we found that the cranberry flavor was lost to the onion soup flavor. The onion flavor was overpowering. Maybe if half a packet of soup mix was used it would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
Using Catalina makes a wonderful difference. I used dried cherries in place of cranberries and it was still moist. My family left no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
It's different from other brisket cooking., it has a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States