Cranberry Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
About a week before you plan on serving it, prepare the meat and let marinade over night in the refrigerator. (I added fresh carrote and sliced onions) Cook it, let cool then slice it and freeze. Reheat in the cooking liquid. When heated take the liquid, cranberries, and vegetables and puree them. Cook the liquid down and you have a wonderful gravy to go with a delicious brisket! I made this for Thanksgiving along with my turkey. I have turkey left but not a bit of Brisket!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
I prepared it as a main dish for a pot luck party. EVERYONE asked for the recipe. It is very very easy to prepare. The serving amount of brisket recommended in the recipe is for 6, not 16 (unless you are using it as an appetizer). I had a group of 16, so I used a 6.5 pound brisket. I cooked it for 4 hours, which was plenty of time. I sliced the brisket then mixed it back into the sauce- it was delicious! I'm using this recipe again for another party. My husband was disappointed that there were no leftovers, so I'll to get an even bigger brisket next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
In spite of the trouble I had, the results were tasty and I look forward a more successful attempt. I mistakenly elected the 4 hour cooking time and burned the marinade, the bottom of the meat and most of the cranberries. I had trouble getting a good tight seal on the baking dish with the aluminum foil - this may have contributed to my problems. When I try again I will probably try a lidded casserole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sreengleen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
My daughter & I are not big meat eaters but I made this for a holiday get-together and everyone including my daughter & I really liked this. It was quick & easy to do with just a few ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marqueta Martinez

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Osburn, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
It was OK. Nothing special. Granted, the outside of the roast where it carmelized was very good, but the flavor didn't penetrate. Also, the smell while it was cooking was unpleasant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
Using Catalina makes a wonderful difference. I used dried cherries in place of cranberries and it was still moist. My family left no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
Very yummy, and easy to make! A good way to prepare a cut of meat that usually would do well to be marinated and/or slow-cooked! I might add a bit of sugar next time, as my family was slightly put off by the tartness of our cranberries...but I thought it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
I have been making this recipe for awhile now. This recipe may sound strange, but is very, very good. The tangy and sweet are excellent together. So easy to make too. I usually make "Super Squash" with this recipe, which is found on this website as well. This is the best recipe I make, and I make alot of recipes. Definitely try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
I made this recipe for a special dinner with my mom and her friend and we all agreed that it was excellent! I kept getting compliments all night...even after dinner was over! It was so different from any other brisket we have ever had. So easy and so good! I only made two changes to the original...I used a sweet honey catalina dressing and dried cranberries only because I couldn't find any fresh. It turned out wonderfully! Thank you so much for this YUMMY brisket!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia-Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
This was great. I made it in a slow cooker and used a can of whole cranberry sauce instead of fresh cranberries. Also, I had a small bottle of Catalina dressing which turned out to be less than one cup, but that didn't seem to matter. There was plenty of sauce to serve over the meat and the kids loved it. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Perry Hall, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Wine-Braised Beef Brisket

See how to make this tasty slow-cooked beef brisket.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States