Cranberry Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I served these as a Thanksgiving dessert this year, and everyone loved them. I took the advice of others and used a can of whole cranberry sauce instead of making my own. It probably could have gone a few minutes longer in the oven, but it was hard to judge if they were done or not because of the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I zested 1 orange and used its juice and water to make the 3/4 c for the cranberry sauce, 10 min cooking is fine. After cooking just place pan in sink filled with 3" cold water- it will cool very quickly that way and thicken. To the cake mixture, decreased butter to 2/3 c, 2 eggs, and used quick oats(didn't have rolled), only 1/2 c br sugar, 2 t. cinnamon, no ginger. Then use the butter wrapper to press down the dough mixture into the pan (it won't stick) and use wrapper again to press the remaining dough into flat pieces to place over the cranberry mixture. 35 min was perfect in my oven. Cool completely and it will cut beautifully. Great fall dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Turned out excellent. I used 1 can of whole cranberries instead of using cranberries, water and sugar, and they turned out great!!! Took them to work and they were a hit. Would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice Burke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Little Eggs
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
really, really good! added pecans. might try raspberry next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Little Eggs
Living In: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Very good and very easy! I do think you could use canned cranberries to save time. I also might try to use a can of canned blueberry pie filling, too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
very very good, and you can't complain about them being long to prepare! they were ok with me and got rave reviews. Some said they could be great with a touch less sugar, but I must admit I hadn't got cranberries and used cherry preserve after all...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This was a great recipe. I don't even really like cranberries, but this came out fantastic! My only modification was that I used Splenda in place of sugar when boiling the cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I made this exactly as stated. We did not like it at all. The cake base's flavor was terrible. The combination perhaps of cinnamon and ginger is what threw it off, plus it was overly sweet from the add'n of brown sugar. Further, as I think another reviewer said, you really could have used canned whole cranberry sauce for this to save time. I don't think you'd be able to have told the difference. Looks like I learned my lesson: stay with my tried 'n' true cranberry recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Excellent....would give it a 6th star if possible. Made this in a 9 inch springform pan ( well sprayed) and left out ginger...hate it!.. Also gave it a fine dusting of icing sugar for a more festive look. Cut into wedges and served with ice cream and it got big raves! Like others, I made sure the filling was cooled well ( made it the day before). Such a simple to make recipe that turned out so well. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I really liked these. I might spread the cranberry mix a little thinner next time as some parts were a little sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States