Cranberry Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
These were great but I believe that the following changes are necessary: 1)Add more oats. I ended up added 1 or more cups oats to the crust and almost 2 cups more to the reserved topping, to make it manageable to place on top as well as to actually have some texture. The amount of brown sugar is a little much. If you like it sweet, that's fine but it is possible to reduce it at least to a 1/2 cup. Everyone enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Delicious. Less like a bar and tastes more like a cranberry dump cake. Serve ice cream over the top. The tart and the sweet combine perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This was a great and tasty way to use up my leftover cranberry sauce from Thanksgiving dinner. Amazingly, I didn't have a yellow cake mix in the house but I did have lemon--and that turned out very well--would definitely make again! Brought it in to work and it was gobbled and lots of requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ..thru his stomach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Cut back on sugar as per other suggestions. Found this recipe to be a little too much "cake-like". Thought that it would have more of an oat texture (similar to date squares). Flavour of cranberry sauce was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Added 1/2 C. brandy to sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I couldn't beleive how easy these were to make! I used splenda instead of sugar and it was FANTASTIC!! Everyone loved them! Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
These were just okay for me. The flavors were good and the cranberry mixture smelled and tasted wonderful, but they were crumbly even after leaving them in the pan for a couple of hours. My cake mixture was very moist and gooey. There was no way I was going to be able to "press" them into the pan. Might be because I used instant oats, but not sure. Not sure the flavor was good enough to warrant another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
if this could get more stars i would give them! the cranberry/sugar/water mixture is basicly making your own cranberry sauce. that being said you could probably sustitute canned whole berry cranberry sauce if cranberries are out of season. i followed to a T made no changes whatsoever. of the whole pan i got one square. my husband ate the ENTIRE pan other than two squares he brought for a couple of the guys he works with. he ate it all in less than 24 hrs. i would say it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I made this and brought it into work. It was an instant hit! I did modify the recipe by adding an additional 1/2 teaspoon of Cinnamon to the bar mix and the zest of 1 small orange to the cranberry filling, once it was cooled. I also read the other comments about waiting over night to cut, and I would recomend this as well. I will for sure make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States