Cranberry Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by LinguistiChef
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I really love this recipe and I did not give it 5 stars because what I got was more like cranberry cobbler--super delicious--just not something I can slice up to share with a group of people or as a cookie exchange. The picture I submitted shows how the left side is more like the texture I'd prefer in a bar, the right side shows gooeyness more akin to a cobbler. Perhaps cooking it longer would result in a firmer bar, or adding less liquid, but it tastes great just the way it is! (BTW I was out of ginger and only had a white cake mix--yummy!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
my whole family really enjoyed these bars! i did exactly as the original recipe said but did coat the pan in crisco beforehand and the bars were very easy to remove. i had baked them earlier in the day so they had about 3-4hrs to sit and cool before serving them. i will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I tried a gluten free vanilla cake mix instead of the yellow cake mix. It tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Amazing! Made recipe as is, using a gluten free cake mix and it was perfect. Not too sweet, not to tart, but just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
These were really good and easy to make. I didn't change a thing since it was my first time making them. I didn't have any trouble getting them out of the pan and I let them cool about an hour. I agree that you need to let the cranberry sauce cool before making the bars. I knocked one star off because I think they need more spice so next time I'll double the cinnamon and maybe add some to the cranberries instead of just the crust. I will also add some chopped nuts to the topping portion of the batter for more texture. Overall, this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carol Durham
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I made these for my grandson who only likes chocolate. So I made them with chocolate cake mix. The only other change I made was changing the water to orange juice and a teaspoon of orange zest. I also lined my pan with parchment paper so I could easily lift it out to slice. It worked great. I did not have any of the problems with the cranberry filling being runny. Maybe people are cutting out the sugar and not cooking it until it is thick and the pectin sets up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Denise
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Delish! These were so easy to make. I found my cranberries a little more tart than usual so I added 2 Tsp. of Port wine to the sauce. Perfect! These were a big hit with my fellow co-workers and my family. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Great bar! A neighbor gave me fresh cranberries from Wisconsin so I searched for a recipe to use them... I will definitely make again but I will half the sugar levels.. very sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
I made these bars for a church cleaning day. They were delicious! I used a French vanilla cake mix instead of yellow. And since I didn't have any cranberries, I used a can of whole berry cranberry sauce in its place. It turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2eat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I loved it! I added some cornstarch to the cranberry/sugar/water part in order to thicken it up more quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States