Cranberry Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Fantastic! I committed the cardinal sin of baking - I made these for a group without having ever made them before. They turned out great. Just follow the recipe. I had the luxury of making them the night before so getting them out of the dish was not a problem. I also used my trusty serrated knife which works like a charm. Highly recommended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
Canned whole berry cranberry sauce works just as well. Add a bit of orange zest for an interesting twist. We love these for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
I have made these several times since Christmas without any alteration to the recipe, and they always get raves from friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bishopville, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
Excellent! Now I know why I saved that extra bag of frozen cranberries from Thanksgiving shopping. Great rich taste, nice choice as well as amount of spices, and loved the tart/sweet flavor. This would be a great treat for Thanksgiving too. I did not change the recipe, but I did add a sprinkling of powdered sugar to the top. I think maybe next time I might also add chopped walnuts to the berries----maybe, but it's perfect just the way it is. I heeded the mesage of others who said it was difficult to cut. I placed foil in the pan lengthwise allowing about 2" to hang over the 2 long ends of the pan. After the dessert is completely cooled, you can easily lift it out & cut into bars---I've done this with brownies & it works so well! I also cooked the cranberries the night before as another person said----the only bad point of that is it gets pretty jelled, so you need to chop it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACKIE2830

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Cheektowaga, New York, USA
Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
My family loved these. I substituted Splenda white sugar and brown sugar but otherwise kept the recipe as written. Had no problem cutting them but you have to let them cool completely. Being winter, I just covered them and sat them on the deck for about a half hour. I thought they were a little sweet the next day but the rest of my family could not get enough. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
AMAZING!!!I made these bars at holiday time and they were a HUGE HIT. Not only is the recipe extremely easy, it keeps for several weeks. My teenage stepson has requested that I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buffyangel4ever

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
This is a super easy and yummy recipe. I did add 1 cup of toasted pecans, half sprinkled on the base layer and half sprinkled on top. I served these to my couples Bible study group and everyone raved about how good and different they were. They didn't have a cake mix taste at all. I'll definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Some important tips for this recipe: 1) use the real deal rolled oats, not the instant kind, 2) I used frozen cranberries and dropped the water down to 1/2 cup . . . you absolutely must cook the cranberries down until it's thick in the pan, keep mushing the berries as it cooks down, 3) you're better off making the cranberry part either the day before or wayyyy earlier than when you mix the cake part b/c it's better if the cranberry jam is fully cool, 4) don't even think about cutting these bars for at least 2-3 hrs after coming out of the oven . . . waiting will ensure lovely cut bars. I gave this a 4 and not a 5 because I only liked these the day I made them. The next day they had gotten soft (of course b/c of the amount of butter and the cranberry spread), which isn't bad, just a preference thing. And heck, throw some ice cream on top and I'll be saying texture smexture ;-). I will make these again, but will reduce the sugar to 3/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Media, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
These bars are just wonderful. The sweet and tart of the cranberries combined with the flavor of brown sugar and oatmeal makes these a favorite from now on. As mentioned, they aren't kid friendly, but that's okay because it leaves more for the adults!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Getzville, New York, USA
Living In: Williamsville, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
YUMMY!! Great way to use the extra cranberry sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States