Cranberry Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I loved these. I made them today for a get-together and everyone loved them. I can't keep out of the leftovers - what little there was left. They'll be gone soon! I only used 1/2 tsp of ginger as I was worried it may be too strong, but next time I'll probably put the whole tsp in. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This is great!! Ease of preparation, smell, and I can only imagine the taste. Looking forward to that though. A quick note here--the recipe calls for 3/4 C. of butter, melted. Make sure that you measure 1 1/2 sticks of butter. 1 stick of butter is 1/2 C., then from your second stick of butter, you need 1/4 of it. That equals 3/4 C. of butter, melted. If you actually do 3/4 C. of melted butter, your dough will not hold together. Let you know after I have some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I didn't have a yellow cake mix, so I substituted a Lemon cake mix. Wow! I think they were better than the original could have been. I also added some lemon zest to the batter. I deleted the cinnamon and lowered the brown sugar to 1/2 a cup and added 1/4 cup white sugar. My family & friends say this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I just had to review these bars again. I did it last year when I first made them and I got the recipe out again for another season of parties. I took them to a class meeting of future business owners and they went nuts! Then I took some into work with me and they went nuts for them too. My boss told me that I should market and sell them because I would make a fortune. They are that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Delicious! The mix of tart and sweet is just right (a little on the sweet side). I make these every year at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I loved these. Super easy and everyone loved them, so different. You do have to spray the pan with non-stick spray before baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwen Grottke Tegart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Very good! I used considerably less sugar, because I like mine to be tart! They took forever to cool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I cooked the cranberries in orange juice and cut back on the sugar a bit. I also cut back on the butter and added some applesauce and allspice. These are yummy, and the kids loved them. I thought the dough would be a little less sticky, and that these would be more cookie-like, but they were more of a brownie, cake-like bar. I will make this again, but I think I will use more oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Wrightstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I added a little extra oatmeal and some whole berry cranberry sauce (leftover from supper) to the fresh cranberries. As long as you let the completely cool, you should have no problem cutting/removing them. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athol, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holyoke, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
Loved these. They were easy and taste wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zonya Gingrich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States