Cranberry Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Very good! I used considerably less sugar, because I like mine to be tart! They took forever to cool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I cooked the cranberries in orange juice and cut back on the sugar a bit. I also cut back on the butter and added some applesauce and allspice. These are yummy, and the kids loved them. I thought the dough would be a little less sticky, and that these would be more cookie-like, but they were more of a brownie, cake-like bar. I will make this again, but I think I will use more oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Wrightstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I added a little extra oatmeal and some whole berry cranberry sauce (leftover from supper) to the fresh cranberries. As long as you let the completely cool, you should have no problem cutting/removing them. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athol, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holyoke, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
Loved these. They were easy and taste wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zonya Gingrich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
These were just alright. They were pretty easy to make, but just weren't "wow".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
a snap to prepare and oh, so good. I love the sweet with the tang of the berry. Used pom juice in place of water. Could not taste the spices in the crust, so added 1/2 tsp. cinnamon to the cran mixture after thickening and still can't taste it but perhaps by tomorrow it will season. The cooking time was spot on in my oven. I couldn't let them cool completely because I was too impatient to try. They were still warm but did not have any problems with crumbling or falling apart. *I also took care in not letting the cranberry sauce touch the sides of the pan during preparation. This prevented the sugar from crystallizing as it baked and sticking to the pan and becoming hard. They cut perfectly into little squares. They are sweet so they can be cut into small squares. I only had a white mix and used that and cannot taste any cake mix flavor. Thanks for a great recipe with alot of versatility. I would like to add a bit of orange zest to the next batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Very easy and a great way to use up that leftover Thanksgiving cranberry sauce that nobody touched! I ad libbed a little (it is in no way a reflection on the original recipe, it's just what I do...). I added about a cup of ground pecans to the dough. On top of the cranberry layer I added a handful of white chocolate chips (would have liked to add a few more but someone had broken into the bag and a handful was all that was left!), and I also added about a cup of shredded coconut before adding the top layer of dough. Delicious and festive cookies that I am looking forward to serving at our Christmas party tomorrow night! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Robertsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I made these tonight for Thanksgiving tomorrow and of course have done plenty of taste testing. These are truly great! They look very pretty and festive too. First of all I only used 1/2 cup of butter and it works perfectly! Someone said they were greasy and I hate it when bars are greasy. Also, I was so close to cutting back on the sugar but in the end I followed the recipe and am so glad I did cause I think these would have been too tart if I would not have used the full amount of sugar. I just flattened pieces of dough in my hands and they would lay those pieces on top of the the filling and it works very well. It is true that you must wait until they are completely cool to cut but with any bar like this, I put them in the freezer for maybe 10-15 minutes before cutting (use a serated knife like a steak knive) and they cut fine and look nice. I did add chopped pecans on top of the cranberry filling too. I dusted with powdered sugar and next time will drizzle white chocolate. I was worried it would be too sweet with chocolate but I don't think so! Give these a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
Great!!!!Inexpensive, easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIHANNA
Home Town: Middleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Raynham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
So delicious! I used 2T less butter than called for... had no problems cutting them or removing them from the pan. I chopped up walnuts and sprinkled on top - perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stylistmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States