Cranberry Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I was so excited to make these after reading all the amazing reviews, and thought that Thanksgiving would be the perfect time to unveil such a delicious treat. Sadly, I was very disappointed. They weren't bad, but they certainly didn't live up to the expectations I had from all the great reviews. After reading some of the other reviews I decided to only use 3/4 cup white sugar to sweeten the cranberries. They were very tart, which I like, but if you prefer sweeter I would stick with the 1 cup of sugar. Also, I let them bake for 40 minutes, which turned out to be a little too long. I checked them after 35 minutes, but they didn't look done. 40 minutes was too long though, so just keep an eye on them if you think 35 minutes isn't long enough. I let them cool for about 3 hours, and had no problems cutting them into bars. They did look very pretty, but to me they just tasted like a buttery nutri-grain bar. I was expecting them to taste more like the raspberry bars at Starbucks (which are to die for), but they were not even close. Everybody said they were really good...but I think they were just trying to be nice because I had almost half the pan left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
These bars are quick and easy to bake! I patted the dough in my hand and flattened it to put on top of the cranberry layer. I had a few uncovered places but it filled in while baking. The smelled wonderful while cooking!!!! Great fall recipe! Nikki
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICOLETTE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I make this recipe every year and is always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Yum. Definately agree with others about the nice contrast between the tang and the sweet. Next time I think I'll add some coconut and I like the idea of some white chocolate chips! Definately will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VKENNER

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
These were excellent. My family couldn't say enough good things about them. I did cool the cranberry mixture for about an hour until it was like a jelly. I spread the dough in the pan with my hands and really packed it down. Then I spread the cranberry mixture almost to the edge of the dough. I topped it with some white chocolate chips then the rest of the dough. I did as others said and cooled them for 3 hours on the counter. They were very easy to cut and take out of the pan. I will definitely be making these often as we love cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shoreview, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I LOVE the cranberry flavor of these bars, but the consistency of mine were more like a cobbler. Delicious, but not really a bar cookie. I may have screwed up, I'll freely admit, but I think for cookies next time I'll use something other than cake mix--I'd rather use an oatmeal crumb type mix for it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Just okay. My bars wouldn't hold together, less like a bar and more like a crumble or crisp. I used Orange Cake Mix which made a nice flavor combination though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
One of my favorite Christmas recipes...I always cut the sugar though...the cake mix is so sweet that you don't really need much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Vienna, Ohio, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
These were awesome. I shared them with quite a few people and never met any resistance in coming in for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Tasty, with a slightly "holiday" flavor, thought they were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States