Cranberry Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Super-good five-star hit. These were a great consistency that made perfect bars for wrapping/carrying as a mobile snack in a lunch bag. Not only that, the taste and texture of these put me in mind of the store-bought breakfast bars . . .only these are much more flavorful and more substantial- not to mention, more economical. Be patient, spread the first layer evenly and thinly across the entire bottom of pan, and be likewise patient as you spread the next two layers. This made attractive, even layers for me. I used a square pan. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
They tasted, to me, like a modified cake mix rather than good cranberry bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Perfect use for our leftover cranberry sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I liked this recipe, although I made some changes. I added 1tsp of almond extract to the cake batter. I also added about 1 cup of additional oats to the mixture for the topping. The topping was too sticky to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Good recipe, however the crust turned out to be more of a cake texture than I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ania
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Great recipe. We made it with with orange cake mix, and only 1/2 cup sugar added to the cranberries, and no additional sugar after (except whatever is in cake mix) - NOT the 3/4 cup plus 1 cup, as recipe states. PLENTY sweet. Will make it exactly like this again. Cannot imagine how sweet it would be if we made it as written. Maybe will try with spice cake mix next time, will probably be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
OMG.....made this on a snow day at home & took someone's advice from the reviews & added orange juice & the zest while boiling the cranberries...luv luv these bars...brought them to my office & they were gone in a 1/2 day...making them again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Tastes a little too "cake-y" for me. Will probably work on trying this without the cake mix next time. LOVE the tart cranberries and their bright color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APT1171

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Difficult to make - the dough was SO sticky. However, these are absolutely delicious! Will make again, despite the annoyance of the sticky dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Loved this! and so did my family. My picky 10 year old said it was the best dessert she's ever had. I put the entire oatmeal mixture on the bottom though...added the cranberry mixture and made a crumble for the top w/ oats, butter and brown sugar, nuts and threw it on top. I reduced the amount of sugar in the cranberry mixture as we don't like these overly sweet. It was fab! Am getting ready to make it again right now but only have chocolate cake mix... gonna try it out anyway and see how it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States