Cranberry Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I made this exactly as stated. We did not like it at all. The cake base's flavor was terrible. The combination perhaps of cinnamon and ginger is what threw it off, plus it was overly sweet from the add'n of brown sugar. Further, as I think another reviewer said, you really could have used canned whole cranberry sauce for this to save time. I don't think you'd be able to have told the difference. Looks like I learned my lesson: stay with my tried 'n' true cranberry recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Excellent....would give it a 6th star if possible. Made this in a 9 inch springform pan ( well sprayed) and left out ginger...hate it!.. Also gave it a fine dusting of icing sugar for a more festive look. Cut into wedges and served with ice cream and it got big raves! Like others, I made sure the filling was cooled well ( made it the day before). Such a simple to make recipe that turned out so well. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I really liked these. I might spread the cranberry mix a little thinner next time as some parts were a little sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
excellent recipe! It was the first thing to go at a Christmas brunch; am making it again for Christmas morning! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Yummy Yummy Yummy. These were so good. I liked their soft texture. I also liked the tartness of the cranberries. I read the other reviews and the ones who said that thier bars didn't set wasn't true for me, but I cooked my cranberries for a quite a while and I don't live in a humid area. I will be making these for thanksgiving and christmas, oh and inbetween. My family and I really enjoyed these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
The pan of bars were gone by the end of the weekend! These bars are quick to prepare on short notice for company. Just have have a cake mix and a bag of frozen cranberries on stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Absolutely outstanding. I followed the recipe as written the first time, but when we ate it all and my husband wanted more, I didn't have another cake mix. I used a basic cookie dough recipe (Big Batch Kris Kringle cookies without the add-ins), and added ginger, cinnamon, and oats. It came out a little firmer, and next time I would use a little less flour or underbake it for a softer bar. I'd rather not use cake mixes anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Something happened where mine didn't set up all the way, but that didn't take anything away from it. I made them for a friend, and had to fight my brother off with a stick to keep him from eating the whole pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TORANORANEKO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Concord, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
My friend taught me to pour a 12 oz bag of white chocolate chips over the top as soon as you pull them out of the oven. Try this for your next cookie exchange!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Fantastic. I made these for Christmas last year and they were an instant family hint. My father requested them again for this year. Follow the directions exactly and you will be pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States