Cranberry Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
OMG.....made this on a snow day at home & took someone's advice from the reviews & added orange juice & the zest while boiling the cranberries...luv luv these bars...brought them to my office & they were gone in a 1/2 day...making them again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Tastes a little too "cake-y" for me. Will probably work on trying this without the cake mix next time. LOVE the tart cranberries and their bright color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APT1171

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Difficult to make - the dough was SO sticky. However, these are absolutely delicious! Will make again, despite the annoyance of the sticky dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Loved this! and so did my family. My picky 10 year old said it was the best dessert she's ever had. I put the entire oatmeal mixture on the bottom though...added the cranberry mixture and made a crumble for the top w/ oats, butter and brown sugar, nuts and threw it on top. I reduced the amount of sugar in the cranberry mixture as we don't like these overly sweet. It was fab! Am getting ready to make it again right now but only have chocolate cake mix... gonna try it out anyway and see how it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Russell Wade

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Sweet & Tart, even though I realized after the fact I left out the brown sugar in the dough, they're still sweet enough. The husband who typically doesn't like cranberries even liked these. I don't care for ginger very much, so I may cut down on it next time, I think its a tad strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and my whole family loved it. However, it turn out more like a cobbler than bars. I will make it again next time I have fresh cranberries. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I have made this recipe a few times now, and done two different things with it. First off...this must be an older recipe, given the size of cake mix it calls for. People need to be aware that this changes the outcome. Maybe not too badly, but it does. The first time I made them, I got a second box of cake mix, and weighed it out on my kitchen scale, adding enough from the second box, to equal the weight of what the recipe calls for. I also used cranberries that were fresh, and not frozen. They came out absolutely perfect!! The next time, I used it as called for, just using one cake mix. I could tell from the get go, that there wasn't enough crust. Also, the second time, I used cranberries that I had frozen. They were a lot wetter, than doing them fresh, and letting them cool. Definitely need to let them cool, as the recipe states. So...the first round was better, and gets my 5 star vote. Nobodys fault, that the second round wasn't as good..just that the cake mixes are smaller now. The third time, I used blueberry filling. And that, I can't rate, because they are still cooling as I type this . So..my last comment is, please when you all use cake mix based recipes, pay attention to the weights on the boxes. They vary by brand, and will alter your finished products
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LinguistiChef
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I really love this recipe and I did not give it 5 stars because what I got was more like cranberry cobbler--super delicious--just not something I can slice up to share with a group of people or as a cookie exchange. The picture I submitted shows how the left side is more like the texture I'd prefer in a bar, the right side shows gooeyness more akin to a cobbler. Perhaps cooking it longer would result in a firmer bar, or adding less liquid, but it tastes great just the way it is! (BTW I was out of ginger and only had a white cake mix--yummy!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
my whole family really enjoyed these bars! i did exactly as the original recipe said but did coat the pan in crisco beforehand and the bars were very easy to remove. i had baked them earlier in the day so they had about 3-4hrs to sit and cool before serving them. i will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I tried a gluten free vanilla cake mix instead of the yellow cake mix. It tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States