Cranberry Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I didn't have a yellow cake mix, so I substituted a Lemon cake mix. Wow! I think they were better than the original could have been. I also added some lemon zest to the batter. I deleted the cinnamon and lowered the brown sugar to 1/2 a cup and added 1/4 cup white sugar. My family & friends say this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I just had to review these bars again. I did it last year when I first made them and I got the recipe out again for another season of parties. I took them to a class meeting of future business owners and they went nuts! Then I took some into work with me and they went nuts for them too. My boss told me that I should market and sell them because I would make a fortune. They are that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Delicious! The mix of tart and sweet is just right (a little on the sweet side). I make these every year at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I loved these. Super easy and everyone loved them, so different. You do have to spray the pan with non-stick spray before baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwen Grottke Tegart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Very good! I used considerably less sugar, because I like mine to be tart! They took forever to cool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I cooked the cranberries in orange juice and cut back on the sugar a bit. I also cut back on the butter and added some applesauce and allspice. These are yummy, and the kids loved them. I thought the dough would be a little less sticky, and that these would be more cookie-like, but they were more of a brownie, cake-like bar. I will make this again, but I think I will use more oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Wrightstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I added a little extra oatmeal and some whole berry cranberry sauce (leftover from supper) to the fresh cranberries. As long as you let the completely cool, you should have no problem cutting/removing them. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athol, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holyoke, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
Loved these. They were easy and taste wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zonya Gingrich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
These were just alright. They were pretty easy to make, but just weren't "wow".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
a snap to prepare and oh, so good. I love the sweet with the tang of the berry. Used pom juice in place of water. Could not taste the spices in the crust, so added 1/2 tsp. cinnamon to the cran mixture after thickening and still can't taste it but perhaps by tomorrow it will season. The cooking time was spot on in my oven. I couldn't let them cool completely because I was too impatient to try. They were still warm but did not have any problems with crumbling or falling apart. *I also took care in not letting the cranberry sauce touch the sides of the pan during preparation. This prevented the sugar from crystallizing as it baked and sticking to the pan and becoming hard. They cut perfectly into little squares. They are sweet so they can be cut into small squares. I only had a white mix and used that and cannot taste any cake mix flavor. Thanks for a great recipe with alot of versatility. I would like to add a bit of orange zest to the next batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States