Cranberry Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I liked these bars, once they had cooled completely. I had no trouble with them crumbling. I cooked my cranberries/sugar mixture to a very thick jam consistency. The only problem I did have with this recipe is that the bars were done at 30 mins, much earlier than the recipe states. I will make this again when I am wanting something sweet with cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Excellent. Be sure they are good and cool before cutting. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This was ok but I wouldn't call them bars exactly. When left for the next day, these bars get softer and almost cake like. I did like the contrast between tart cranberries and the sweetness of the dough, but this is probably something I won't try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I made these last year (Christmas) with what I had in my kitchen. They were a refreshing change from all the other rich and chocolate goodies. I made them again for Thanksgiving and received good reviews. Nice with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Preshie from CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I was so excited to make these after reading all the amazing reviews, and thought that Thanksgiving would be the perfect time to unveil such a delicious treat. Sadly, I was very disappointed. They weren't bad, but they certainly didn't live up to the expectations I had from all the great reviews. After reading some of the other reviews I decided to only use 3/4 cup white sugar to sweeten the cranberries. They were very tart, which I like, but if you prefer sweeter I would stick with the 1 cup of sugar. Also, I let them bake for 40 minutes, which turned out to be a little too long. I checked them after 35 minutes, but they didn't look done. 40 minutes was too long though, so just keep an eye on them if you think 35 minutes isn't long enough. I let them cool for about 3 hours, and had no problems cutting them into bars. They did look very pretty, but to me they just tasted like a buttery nutri-grain bar. I was expecting them to taste more like the raspberry bars at Starbucks (which are to die for), but they were not even close. Everybody said they were really good...but I think they were just trying to be nice because I had almost half the pan left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
These bars are quick and easy to bake! I patted the dough in my hand and flattened it to put on top of the cranberry layer. I had a few uncovered places but it filled in while baking. The smelled wonderful while cooking!!!! Great fall recipe! Nikki
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICOLETTE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I make this recipe every year and is always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Yum. Definately agree with others about the nice contrast between the tang and the sweet. Next time I think I'll add some coconut and I like the idea of some white chocolate chips! Definately will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VKENNER

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
These were excellent. My family couldn't say enough good things about them. I did cool the cranberry mixture for about an hour until it was like a jelly. I spread the dough in the pan with my hands and really packed it down. Then I spread the cranberry mixture almost to the edge of the dough. I topped it with some white chocolate chips then the rest of the dough. I did as others said and cooled them for 3 hours on the counter. They were very easy to cut and take out of the pan. I will definitely be making these often as we love cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shoreview, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I LOVE the cranberry flavor of these bars, but the consistency of mine were more like a cobbler. Delicious, but not really a bar cookie. I may have screwed up, I'll freely admit, but I think for cookies next time I'll use something other than cake mix--I'd rather use an oatmeal crumb type mix for it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States