Cranberry BBQ Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
The smell alone while this was in the oven should be an air freshener. 90 mins don't seem like a long time but when it smells that good it seems like eons. This was awesome chicken! We had it two days in a row and wasted nothing! Even my picky 5 year old thought it was the greatest chicken he ever had. The only chicken he liked prior to this was in nugget form. I followed the recipe exactly as stated. As I said, it smelled great, looked pretty and tasted wonderful. Never thought of using cranberries for anything but cranberry sauce. Served it with corn bread muffins and buttered asparagus. This will be the way I bake chicken from now on. I am really thinking about trying the sauce on ribs. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
I adapated this recipe for my crock pot--which was super easy and pretty good. I used two pounds of skinless/boneless chicken thighs, and cut them up a bit. I put them right in the pot with the other ingredients, and included two cloves of minced garlic. Cooked on low for six hours. I added about 1 cup of frozen peas just a few minutes before serving, and served it with white rice. Very nice with a tossed salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYCE LITOFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
The whole family loved this one! I used 6 skinless, boneless breast halves and just salt and peppered them and put them in a 9x13. Then sauteed the onion, celery, 1/2 c. chopped green pepper and 2 cloves minced garlic until everything was softened. Added the cranberry sauce, bbq sauce (and a dash of tabasco). Baked uncovered for about an hour, basting twice. It was extremely yummy :).. I know I'll be making this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
This was very good. If you cover the pan with foil, the sauce doesn't burn and you don't need to baste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
My kids gobbled this up! I used a spicy bbq sauce by accident and it toned down the spice a lot! In my opinion, do not cover this dish with foil. If you do the sauce does not get as "sticky" and "gooey" as it needs to. It caramelized so nicely on top of the chicken and if I would have used foil on top I know all that yumminess would have slid right off. I didn't use the onion and celery because it didn't appeal to me. Try this, it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEXI70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shelby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Just made this for 15 of my family members! They loved it, including 4 kids! Please, follow the directions exactly as written, using whole cranberry sauce and using the veggies. I took the advice of another user and got a spicy BBQ sauce to balance out the sweetness of the cranberry sauce. I also sauteed 4 cloves of garlic with the onion and celery. 5 star, all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Joy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
i have been making this recipe for years and it is one of my absolute favorites. the mixture of whole berry cranberry sauce and BBQ sauce is lovely. you can make it without the celery, but it is much lovelier with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kodles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I add a 1/2 cup more BBQ sauce (Sweet Baby Ray's), use boneless skinless breasts, and cut the cook time to 45 minutes. Because you brown the chicken first, the 90 minute cooktime is too long and will dry the chicken out. I have made this several times and it's Mountain's fave :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor Keene

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
Delicious chicken!! Everyone LOVES this chicken. I did alter it though. I cut out the celery and just put onion rings underneath. I also cut out the step of browning in butter. I just place it straight into the pan, spice it (I also use paprika) and then pour the sause combo. over. Thanks for a great chicken recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2002
I knew when I saw this recipe that I would love it and I was not disappointed! This was a yummy dish; the chicken was really tender and the sauce was delicious. If you arent wild about sweet dishes this probably isnt for you, but I really enjoyed this and will definitley make it again and again. (I didnt have the veggies on hand the first time I made it; just cooked the chicken w/ the cran and bbq alone and it was still excellent).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Bomb BBQ Chicken

See how to make BBQ chicken with explosively good flavor.

BBQ Chicken Wings

See how to make sweet and tangy, Asian-inspired BBQ chicken wings.

BBQ Chicken Pizza

See how quick and easy it is to make a delicious BBQ chicken pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States