Cranberry Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
I took the advice from others' comments and they turned out fantastic. Adjustments were 1/4 cup oil, 1+1/4 applesauce....plus additional 1/2 tsp nutmeg, cinnamon, and baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Finally, a cranberry muffin recipe I like! My modifications were: 1 1/4 cup applesauce, 1/4 cup oil, brown sugar instead of white, used half wholewheat flour, and added 1/2 tsp baking soda. Baked about 20 mins. They are great! Very moist, nice light texture. I might add more cinnamon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
I was extremely pleased with the way these came out, especially since the recipe is so simple! I used half a cup of dried cranberries, and my pecans had mysteriously turned into walnuts, so I didn't make the recipe precisely as stated, but the texture and flavour were great! I definitely agree that this is a fantastic basic 'sweet muffin' recipe, and it will probably become my base recipe for future variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
I really enjoyed these muffins. I did change a few things. Sweetened applesauce was used. Butter was used instead of vegetable oil. I added 1/2 cup of brown sugar, 1/2 teaspoon baking powder, and 1 teaspoon of vanilla. Also, I used frozen cranberries. I was really pleased with the final product. I will make these muffins again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
I doubled the recipe and used a full can of full berry cranberry sauce (they were on sale and I was looking for something to use them in) Turned out great, very moist and tasty. I also added 1 teaspoon of baking poweder for leavening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
The cranberry applesauce muffins are great! I changed the recipe just a tad. I have co-workers that include myself that are trying to lose weight, so instead of the sugar, I substituted Splenda. They turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wannabe Virtuous Woman
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
These were pretty good. I was pleased with the texture of muffins made with more applesauce than oil, since applesauce usually changes the texture to more spongy. I don't usually go more than 50/50 applesauce/oil (or butter), when trying to lower fat in recipes, but this recipe was a pleasant surprise in that area. That said, I did feel that the cranberries (fresh) tartness was very strong for this muffin, so I would suggest (& I'll try this next time I make them) is either using dried, or tossing your fresh berries w/ a bit of stevia/sugar/whatever sweetener you use, and letting that sit while you prep the rest of the batter. That should bring out the sweetness a bit more. I also think next time I'd add and extract (like orange/vanilla). I also used part white whole wheat flour in this recipe with no problems in texture/taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wannabe Virtuous Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
These muffins baked very nicely. They are nice and big and delicious. I don't actually have kids, but I'm guessing they'd like them. I didn't have any cranberries on hand, so I made the muffins without them. I'll try adding them next time...they can only make them better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
This recipe was perfect for what I wanted them for! I love using applesauce in recipes. I used egg replacer istead of egg to make them vegan, and dehydrated cranberries instead of frozen. I think that the frozen would definitely be preferred, as the ones I used did not make the muffins very tart at all. Which was kind of sad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eddie Mars

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
These muffins are so easy to make and delicious. Makes a great basic muffin to add other fruits as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madawaska, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States