Cranberry Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Delicious! Works great with rhubarb as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
These were ok. I would want to rate it 3 stars for taste - but gave it 4 stars for the ease of using applesauce and not having to peel-core-chop any apples. I reduced the oil and sugar a bit and found these tasted a little bit too salty. Would use half the amount of salt if i make these again. I prefer "Easy Apple Cinnamon Muffins" from this site - but it calls for more effort with the apples in that recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
The dough was heavy and the muffins did not rise. The outcome was a tart and very dense muffin that did not taste very good. I'll certainly use another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Muffins are not sweet enough to balance out the tartness of the cranberries. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
These are soooo good! I used 1 1/4 cup applesauce and 1/4 cup oil. I also substituted half of the flour with whole wheat flour. Yum! The kids loved them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Good recipe. I added 1 T. of vanilla and next time, I'll toss the cranberries in 2 T. of sugar before adding them... They were a little tart for our taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S. Hamingson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Excellent muffins. I made a few modifications for my taste. I used one cup whole wheat flour and one cup of quick cooking oatmeal instead of white flour. I used 1/4 cup sugar and 1/4 cup splenda. I used walnuts rather than pecans and added approximately 1 tsp of fresh lemon zest. I also topped with a sprinkle of quick cooking oatmeal prior to baking. Baked for 25 min. Came out perfect and very tasty. Thanks for the base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Plain, New York, USA
Living In: Cooperstown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Super recipe, and so simple. I substitute dried cranberries for my 2 year old and he loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CalgaryJosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
These are awesome yummy! I took some other reviewers advise: Added 1 t. orange flavoring; Added a bit more oil; Brushed with butter and dipped in raw sugar after baking. Very good, and I doubled the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wannabe Virtuous Woman
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
These were pretty good. I was pleased with the texture of muffins made with more applesauce than oil, since applesauce usually changes the texture to more spongy. I don't usually go more than 50/50 applesauce/oil (or butter), when trying to lower fat in recipes, but this recipe was a pleasant surprise in that area. That said, I did feel that the cranberries (fresh) tartness was very strong for this muffin, so I would suggest (& I'll try this next time I make them) is either using dried, or tossing your fresh berries w/ a bit of stevia/sugar/whatever sweetener you use, and letting that sit while you prep the rest of the batter. That should bring out the sweetness a bit more. I also think next time I'd add and extract (like orange/vanilla). I also used part white whole wheat flour in this recipe with no problems in texture/taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wannabe Virtuous Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States