Cranberry Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Delicious! Works great with rhubarb as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
These were ok. I would want to rate it 3 stars for taste - but gave it 4 stars for the ease of using applesauce and not having to peel-core-chop any apples. I reduced the oil and sugar a bit and found these tasted a little bit too salty. Would use half the amount of salt if i make these again. I prefer "Easy Apple Cinnamon Muffins" from this site - but it calls for more effort with the apples in that recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
The dough was heavy and the muffins did not rise. The outcome was a tart and very dense muffin that did not taste very good. I'll certainly use another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Muffins are not sweet enough to balance out the tartness of the cranberries. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
These are soooo good! I used 1 1/4 cup applesauce and 1/4 cup oil. I also substituted half of the flour with whole wheat flour. Yum! The kids loved them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Good recipe. I added 1 T. of vanilla and next time, I'll toss the cranberries in 2 T. of sugar before adding them... They were a little tart for our taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S. Hamingson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Excellent muffins. I made a few modifications for my taste. I used one cup whole wheat flour and one cup of quick cooking oatmeal instead of white flour. I used 1/4 cup sugar and 1/4 cup splenda. I used walnuts rather than pecans and added approximately 1 tsp of fresh lemon zest. I also topped with a sprinkle of quick cooking oatmeal prior to baking. Baked for 25 min. Came out perfect and very tasty. Thanks for the base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Plain, New York, USA
Living In: Cooperstown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Super recipe, and so simple. I substitute dried cranberries for my 2 year old and he loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CalgaryJosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
These are awesome yummy! I took some other reviewers advise: Added 1 t. orange flavoring; Added a bit more oil; Brushed with butter and dipped in raw sugar after baking. Very good, and I doubled the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wannabe Virtuous Woman
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
These were pretty good. I was pleased with the texture of muffins made with more applesauce than oil, since applesauce usually changes the texture to more spongy. I don't usually go more than 50/50 applesauce/oil (or butter), when trying to lower fat in recipes, but this recipe was a pleasant surprise in that area. That said, I did feel that the cranberries (fresh) tartness was very strong for this muffin, so I would suggest (& I'll try this next time I make them) is either using dried, or tossing your fresh berries w/ a bit of stevia/sugar/whatever sweetener you use, and letting that sit while you prep the rest of the batter. That should bring out the sweetness a bit more. I also think next time I'd add and extract (like orange/vanilla). I also used part white whole wheat flour in this recipe with no problems in texture/taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wannabe Virtuous Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States