Cranberry Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Muffins are not sweet enough to balance out the tartness of the cranberries. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
These are soooo good! I used 1 1/4 cup applesauce and 1/4 cup oil. I also substituted half of the flour with whole wheat flour. Yum! The kids loved them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Good recipe. I added 1 T. of vanilla and next time, I'll toss the cranberries in 2 T. of sugar before adding them... They were a little tart for our taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S. Hamingson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Excellent muffins. I made a few modifications for my taste. I used one cup whole wheat flour and one cup of quick cooking oatmeal instead of white flour. I used 1/4 cup sugar and 1/4 cup splenda. I used walnuts rather than pecans and added approximately 1 tsp of fresh lemon zest. I also topped with a sprinkle of quick cooking oatmeal prior to baking. Baked for 25 min. Came out perfect and very tasty. Thanks for the base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Plain, New York, USA
Living In: Cooperstown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Super recipe, and so simple. I substitute dried cranberries for my 2 year old and he loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CalgaryJosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
These are awesome yummy! I took some other reviewers advise: Added 1 t. orange flavoring; Added a bit more oil; Brushed with butter and dipped in raw sugar after baking. Very good, and I doubled the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wannabe Virtuous Woman
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
These were pretty good. I was pleased with the texture of muffins made with more applesauce than oil, since applesauce usually changes the texture to more spongy. I don't usually go more than 50/50 applesauce/oil (or butter), when trying to lower fat in recipes, but this recipe was a pleasant surprise in that area. That said, I did feel that the cranberries (fresh) tartness was very strong for this muffin, so I would suggest (& I'll try this next time I make them) is either using dried, or tossing your fresh berries w/ a bit of stevia/sugar/whatever sweetener you use, and letting that sit while you prep the rest of the batter. That should bring out the sweetness a bit more. I also think next time I'd add and extract (like orange/vanilla). I also used part white whole wheat flour in this recipe with no problems in texture/taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wannabe Virtuous Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
These are fantastic. Unfortunatly I cant find either fresh or frozen cranberries at this time of year so I used a frozen mixed berry mix with raspberries, blueberries, strawberries and blackberries. I used half light brown sugar and half with. All I had was cinnamon applesauce so I just used it instead of plain and I did keep the added cinnamon in the batch because in my house we love cinnamon. These were dense which I know is from the applesause but very good. I cant wait to try them with fresh cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I used blueberries and cranberries - mostly whole wheat flour and a bit extra baking soda. They are great but missing something - maybe I added too much whole wheat flour - so I dipped the cooled muffins into lemon juice and then into sugar....now they are marvelously sweet and perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
WOW. These muffins are great! I used Craisins and Walnuts as substitutes (didn't have fresh cranberries or pecans) and they were still SO good. We'll definitely make them again the same way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States