Cranberry Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
I took the advice from others' comments and they turned out fantastic. Adjustments were 1/4 cup oil, 1+1/4 applesauce....plus additional 1/2 tsp nutmeg, cinnamon, and baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Finally, a cranberry muffin recipe I like! My modifications were: 1 1/4 cup applesauce, 1/4 cup oil, brown sugar instead of white, used half wholewheat flour, and added 1/2 tsp baking soda. Baked about 20 mins. They are great! Very moist, nice light texture. I might add more cinnamon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
I was extremely pleased with the way these came out, especially since the recipe is so simple! I used half a cup of dried cranberries, and my pecans had mysteriously turned into walnuts, so I didn't make the recipe precisely as stated, but the texture and flavour were great! I definitely agree that this is a fantastic basic 'sweet muffin' recipe, and it will probably become my base recipe for future variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
I really enjoyed these muffins. I did change a few things. Sweetened applesauce was used. Butter was used instead of vegetable oil. I added 1/2 cup of brown sugar, 1/2 teaspoon baking powder, and 1 teaspoon of vanilla. Also, I used frozen cranberries. I was really pleased with the final product. I will make these muffins again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
I doubled the recipe and used a full can of full berry cranberry sauce (they were on sale and I was looking for something to use them in) Turned out great, very moist and tasty. I also added 1 teaspoon of baking poweder for leavening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
The cranberry applesauce muffins are great! I changed the recipe just a tad. I have co-workers that include myself that are trying to lose weight, so instead of the sugar, I substituted Splenda. They turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wannabe Virtuous Woman
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
These were pretty good. I was pleased with the texture of muffins made with more applesauce than oil, since applesauce usually changes the texture to more spongy. I don't usually go more than 50/50 applesauce/oil (or butter), when trying to lower fat in recipes, but this recipe was a pleasant surprise in that area. That said, I did feel that the cranberries (fresh) tartness was very strong for this muffin, so I would suggest (& I'll try this next time I make them) is either using dried, or tossing your fresh berries w/ a bit of stevia/sugar/whatever sweetener you use, and letting that sit while you prep the rest of the batter. That should bring out the sweetness a bit more. I also think next time I'd add and extract (like orange/vanilla). I also used part white whole wheat flour in this recipe with no problems in texture/taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wannabe Virtuous Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
These muffins baked very nicely. They are nice and big and delicious. I don't actually have kids, but I'm guessing they'd like them. I didn't have any cranberries on hand, so I made the muffins without them. I'll try adding them next time...they can only make them better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
This recipe was perfect for what I wanted them for! I love using applesauce in recipes. I used egg replacer istead of egg to make them vegan, and dehydrated cranberries instead of frozen. I think that the frozen would definitely be preferred, as the ones I used did not make the muffins very tart at all. Which was kind of sad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eddie Mars

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
These muffins are so easy to make and delicious. Makes a great basic muffin to add other fruits as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madawaska, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States