Cranberry Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Good recipe. I added 1 T. of vanilla and next time, I'll toss the cranberries in 2 T. of sugar before adding them... They were a little tart for our taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S. Hamingson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Excellent muffins. I made a few modifications for my taste. I used one cup whole wheat flour and one cup of quick cooking oatmeal instead of white flour. I used 1/4 cup sugar and 1/4 cup splenda. I used walnuts rather than pecans and added approximately 1 tsp of fresh lemon zest. I also topped with a sprinkle of quick cooking oatmeal prior to baking. Baked for 25 min. Came out perfect and very tasty. Thanks for the base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Plain, New York, USA
Living In: Cooperstown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Super recipe, and so simple. I substitute dried cranberries for my 2 year old and he loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CalgaryJosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
These are awesome yummy! I took some other reviewers advise: Added 1 t. orange flavoring; Added a bit more oil; Brushed with butter and dipped in raw sugar after baking. Very good, and I doubled the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wannabe Virtuous Woman
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
These were pretty good. I was pleased with the texture of muffins made with more applesauce than oil, since applesauce usually changes the texture to more spongy. I don't usually go more than 50/50 applesauce/oil (or butter), when trying to lower fat in recipes, but this recipe was a pleasant surprise in that area. That said, I did feel that the cranberries (fresh) tartness was very strong for this muffin, so I would suggest (& I'll try this next time I make them) is either using dried, or tossing your fresh berries w/ a bit of stevia/sugar/whatever sweetener you use, and letting that sit while you prep the rest of the batter. That should bring out the sweetness a bit more. I also think next time I'd add and extract (like orange/vanilla). I also used part white whole wheat flour in this recipe with no problems in texture/taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wannabe Virtuous Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
These are fantastic. Unfortunatly I cant find either fresh or frozen cranberries at this time of year so I used a frozen mixed berry mix with raspberries, blueberries, strawberries and blackberries. I used half light brown sugar and half with. All I had was cinnamon applesauce so I just used it instead of plain and I did keep the added cinnamon in the batch because in my house we love cinnamon. These were dense which I know is from the applesause but very good. I cant wait to try them with fresh cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I used blueberries and cranberries - mostly whole wheat flour and a bit extra baking soda. They are great but missing something - maybe I added too much whole wheat flour - so I dipped the cooled muffins into lemon juice and then into sugar....now they are marvelously sweet and perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
WOW. These muffins are great! I used Craisins and Walnuts as substitutes (didn't have fresh cranberries or pecans) and they were still SO good. We'll definitely make them again the same way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Great recipe! I had to add a some milk and extra oil because my batter turned out a little thick. Possibly because I used homemade applesauce that didn't have enough liquid to it. I also used dried cranberries instead of fresh/frozen. I think they had the perfect amount of sweetness. If you have a sweet tooth you could add icing to the top, but I had mine with butter and they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I made these for a wedding shower. They were VERY good, but also very dry. Next time I will add more applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armywife

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States