Cranberry Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I did as other reviewers recommended and increased the applesauce and reduced the oil. They're not too sweet but they're still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
These were great, and are easy to change up with different fruits/nuts. I decreased the calorie and fat content further by using 1 and 1/2 cups of applesauce, no oil, and 1/2 Splenda for baking instead of sugar. They were slightly more dense than they would have been with the oil, but a good trade off for the calories. Making strawberry pecan ones this afternoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rdsxlolo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastchester, New York, USA
Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I made a cranberry loaf instead of muffins. It was perfect. Much prefer using applesauce to lessen amount of sugar in baking. It also gives a moist texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Did the 1 1/4 c applesauce, 1/4 c oil, 1/2 ww and 1/2 ap flour, added some nutmeg and vanilla, 1/4 c brown sugar and 1/4c white, soaked craisens in some oj for a bit before added.. and also added some mini choc chips :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
TYFTI (!) I thought these were lovely. My only problem was using (I halved recipe) "1/2 cup cranberries, chopped" and not "1/2 cup chopped cranberries". In other words, I measured out a half a cup of cranberries and then chopped them (yielding me about 1/4 cup). Not enough of that wonderful cranberry kick I was so looking forward to. Note to self: add a bit of orange extract and baking powder, oven to 425 and when ready to bake drop to 375 for 18". Perfectly cooked - nice and light with good texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Just made this with the recommendations of others, awesome! So moist and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Yum! I had an extra can of cranberry sauce from Thanksgiving that I wanted to use up, so I substituted it into this recipe. I used it in place of the applesauce, cranberries, and pecans, and these muffins were a hit! That was the only change that I made and my kids ate the entire batch in no time (my poor husband didn't even get one). I will defiantly be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
We made as directed except we used some pomegranate seeds that we had on hand. I do agree that a little bit of nutmeg would have helped. I did decrease the baking time a bit too. We'll definitely be making these again with cranberries or any other fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
moist and fluffy muffins I doubled the recipe and these were great. I used 2 full 15oz cans of applesauce, 1/2 brown 1/2 white sugars and added 2 tsp baking powder. You need the baking powder for the rise. I used crasins and almonds since thats what I had in the house made these at 4am and they were gone by 8 am lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
These turned out so wonderful--moist and flavorful to the nth degree! I used whole wheat white flour and added a teaspoon of baking powder. I used my own homemade organic applesauce. I did a coarse chop on the cranberries for this in my small food processor which made the process a little easier. I think next time I make these, I'll cut back a little on the oil and add more applesauce (just to cut back on the fat just a bit) but they are very tasty as is. The combination of applesauce, cranberries and pecans is so good! EDITED: Twelve regular muffins and 12 mini's gone by the end of the day. I'd say we liked these! ;) NOTE: I got 12 largeish regular muffins out of this and 12 mini-muffins. 350 degrees for 20 minutes for the regular muffins and 12 minutes for the mini-muffins was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States