Cranberry Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I left out the nuts and cranberries and my family really liked them. They weren't my absolute favorite, but I did like them, and they were super fast and easy to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tacy Melvin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I followed the advice of several reviewers of adding a little more applesauce, less oil, and 1/2 tsp of baking powder, nutmeg, and cinnamon and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
These really are excellent. I made the modifications others have suggested, using a bit more applesauce and less oil. I increased the cinnamon by half and added some freshly ground nutmeg. I also added a half-teaspoon of baking powder to the baking soda. I made these in mini-muffin pans, baking for about 19 minutes. I did not flour the pans as the recipe indicated. Just greasing them was fine, and they came out beautifully. I also left out the nuts, just my preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RWC4520

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Falling Waters, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I really like these muffins. Not too sweet. I soaked dried cranberries in hot water before making as I did not have any fresh or frozen. Dust with a little powdered sugar if you want to doll them up for a brunch. Should freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donura

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I did as other reviewers recommended and increased the applesauce and reduced the oil. They're not too sweet but they're still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
These were great, and are easy to change up with different fruits/nuts. I decreased the calorie and fat content further by using 1 and 1/2 cups of applesauce, no oil, and 1/2 Splenda for baking instead of sugar. They were slightly more dense than they would have been with the oil, but a good trade off for the calories. Making strawberry pecan ones this afternoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rdsxlolo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastchester, New York, USA
Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I made a cranberry loaf instead of muffins. It was perfect. Much prefer using applesauce to lessen amount of sugar in baking. It also gives a moist texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Did the 1 1/4 c applesauce, 1/4 c oil, 1/2 ww and 1/2 ap flour, added some nutmeg and vanilla, 1/4 c brown sugar and 1/4c white, soaked craisens in some oj for a bit before added.. and also added some mini choc chips :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
TYFTI (!) I thought these were lovely. My only problem was using (I halved recipe) "1/2 cup cranberries, chopped" and not "1/2 cup chopped cranberries". In other words, I measured out a half a cup of cranberries and then chopped them (yielding me about 1/4 cup). Not enough of that wonderful cranberry kick I was so looking forward to. Note to self: add a bit of orange extract and baking powder, oven to 425 and when ready to bake drop to 375 for 18". Perfectly cooked - nice and light with good texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Just made this with the recommendations of others, awesome! So moist and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States