Cranberry Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Just made these muffins. They turned out great. Had to add a little milk. I didn't have any nuts to add but they tasted fine without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I apologize for making a few changes without actually trying it unchanged -- I followed some of the other reviewers' advice and added an extra 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, and 1 tsp vanilla, and used 1 1/4 cup applesauce and 1/4 cup oil. That said, these muffins were to die for! I ate two of them when they had barely begun to cool off, and it required major self control to keep from eating more. Delicious! I'm taking the rest to the office in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
We've tried this recipe twice now and just can't make it work. The dough is too dry, so I added more applesauce but they still end up very dense and dry. We used frozen blueberries the first time and dried cranberries the second time. Each time we used sweetened applesauce so eliminated the sugar. They were sweet enough but just too dense. Not a nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salford, Lancashire, England, U.K.
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
So good! I added chocolate chips and used Craisins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Easy & yummy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Muffins come out great! Problem: they dry out very fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Good basic recipe - not quite sweet enough for my tastes (and I used sweetened applesauce). Next time I'd either add more sugar or dust the top with course sugar. Otherwise I followed the recipe to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Followed the recipe plus made the adjustments that others suggested 1/4 cup oil, 1+1/4 applesauce plus additional 1/2 tsp nutmeg, cinnamon, and baking powder. They came out doughy, tasteless and VERY tart. The 1/2 cup sugar wasn't enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I have been looking for a healthy different muffin that did not use a cup of sugar. So happy to find this one. My family loves it. I make a double batch and then freeze them. Warm homemade muffins whenever I want. I did cut back on the oil to 1/4 cut and increased the applesauce to compensate and used brown sugar instead of white. I also increased the cinnamon to 2 tsp instead of one. My next change is to toast the pecans first. That would be very yummy. So happy I found a delicious low sugar, low fat muffin recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Changes: 1/4 cup ea. oil, apple sauce. Change white sugar to brown. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States