Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I made this for Thanksgiving this year and it was by FAR the best Cranberry Sauce I ever had. As I was making it for the holiday I thought I would go for more sweet, and less savory, so I skipped the onion and celery. But I followed everything else to the letter. The cloves & fresh ginger were a wonderful addition! Thank you so much for the recipe. I will use it every year
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin
Living In: Sedona, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I just made this to serve with rosemary chicken the other night. It is delicious, different and so lovely with poultry. Will make again. I did as written. Don't be afraid of the minced onions and celery. It is a wonderful flavor and balance. You will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Very good. I did leave out the onion and celery though. Next time I will only make half as it makes quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Delicious. Wouldn't change anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CRUISEM
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Really, Really Good!! BUT... I think it works best as a cranberry sauce. I was looking for an actual chutney to serve as an appetizer and this was a little too over the top alone. I DO think it will be great with Thanksgiving dinner & I will definately on making it again!! UPDATE: OK so my bad!! It really does need to sit over night to chill and firm up a little. Next day = 5 Stars!! YUM-O
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I made this according to the recipe and wouldn't change a thing. The onion and celery add complexity to the overall flavor which sets this cranberry condiment apart from similar recipes. Thank you for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Made as directed. My husband wouldn't eat it because he could taste the onions. I think next time I will omit onions for him and it will still be excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blowing Rock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Yummy! Didn't add the celery and onions. Used oj instead of water. Wasn't exact with the spices. I will definitely use this recipe again. It was a favorite at Thanksgiving - no leftovers, and several requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Everyone at Thanksgiving raved about this 'cranberry sauce'. I'd definately make it again, as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Delicious! I actually cut back on the sugars by about half, and my family said it was just perfect. I served it on the Actually Delicious Turkey burgers, and added about 3 TBSP of the chutney to the meat mixture. Had a time keeping my daughter out of it before dinner! I will definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frostybean

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Spiced Apple Chutney

See how to make a spiced apple sauce that blows regular apple sauce away.

Ginger Pear Cranberry Sauce

This incredibly flavorful cranberry sauce stars candied ginger and fresh pear.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States