Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Not only does this taste heavenly, it makes the house smell wonderful when you cook it. Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I'm a vegan so I served this with smoked tempeh and it was AWESOME. It would be a perfect entree for a vegan Thanksgiving celebration. I am not a big fan of cooked fruit, but something possessed me to buy fresh, local, organic cranberries when I saw them at the store. I'm so glad that I came across this recipe and I wouldn't change a thing (except that I briefly processed the berries prior to cooking, rather than cooking them whole).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smallu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I made this last Thanksgiving and impressed my entire family. I had never made a chutney before, but this was easy and really good. This chutney is sweet, tart, spicy and delicious. I will be making this every year on Turkey Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Made Thanksgiving 2008 - Some guests totally raved about it saying it was the BEST but most of MY FAMILY did not care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ForeverTERESA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indian Rocks Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Delicious! I actually cut back on the sugars by about half, and my family said it was just perfect. I served it on the Actually Delicious Turkey burgers, and added about 3 TBSP of the chutney to the meat mixture. Had a time keeping my daughter out of it before dinner! I will definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frostybean

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Everyone at Thanksgiving raved about this 'cranberry sauce'. I'd definately make it again, as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Yummy! Didn't add the celery and onions. Used oj instead of water. Wasn't exact with the spices. I will definitely use this recipe again. It was a favorite at Thanksgiving - no leftovers, and several requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Made as directed. My husband wouldn't eat it because he could taste the onions. I think next time I will omit onions for him and it will still be excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blowing Rock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I made this according to the recipe and wouldn't change a thing. The onion and celery add complexity to the overall flavor which sets this cranberry condiment apart from similar recipes. Thank you for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CRUISEM
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Really, Really Good!! BUT... I think it works best as a cranberry sauce. I was looking for an actual chutney to serve as an appetizer and this was a little too over the top alone. I DO think it will be great with Thanksgiving dinner & I will definately on making it again!! UPDATE: OK so my bad!! It really does need to sit over night to chill and firm up a little. Next day = 5 Stars!! YUM-O
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Spiced Apple Chutney

See how to make a spiced apple sauce that blows regular apple sauce away.

Ginger Pear Cranberry Sauce

This incredibly flavorful cranberry sauce stars candied ginger and fresh pear.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States