Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This was a hit at our Thanksgiving meal. A very refreshing alternative to "typical" cranberry relish. I did not have celery, so I added a little extra apple instead. Delicious! I may leave out the celery in the future because I'm not crazy about it anyway. Think I may add some walnuts instead. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Wow!!! This is great stuff!!! With fresh cranberries in hand I started searching for the perfect recipe and I believe this is it. I almost skipped over it because of the onions and celery, but I am so glad I took a chance.The flavor and texture is wonderful. The only things I changed is that I didn't have fresh ginger and had to use powered and instead of water I used orange juice to add a bit more flavor and I love nuts so I threw in 3/4 c. of pecans. I will be making this as long as I can get my hands on fresh cranberries. Thank you for this flavorful chutney.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Perfect as-is....don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnaSommerville

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
A nice change from "your usual cranberry sauce". I found it works best with sweet white onions, and I cut the sugar in half, which came out just right for my taste. To reduce the "sharp" onion taste (if you are concerned about the onions), a little more work is required: start roasting the onions in about 1 teaspoon of oil first in the pot, then, when the onions are light golden brown, add the white sugar and lightly caramelize. Then add the water and the other ingredients as the original recipe calls for. That way, the onions release their full sweetness, while the edge is taken off. I also think, adding about 1/8 to 1/4 teaspoon of ground coriander would spice it up a bit, but I have not tried that yet myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vestalia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boalsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I loved this! Nice change from regular store bought cranberry sauce. Now that the canned stuff has High Fructose Corn Syrup (like all food manufactured in the US these days!), I'll be making my own cranberry relishes, sauces, and chutneys. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarieM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Oyster Bay, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Great recipe. I have not tasted chutney before, but this was fresh, crunchy, sweet sour goodness. Great on turkey sandwiches and mixed in my chicken salad recipe. Thank You! I will be making this for the holidays for now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Not only does this taste heavenly, it makes the house smell wonderful when you cook it. Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I'm a vegan so I served this with smoked tempeh and it was AWESOME. It would be a perfect entree for a vegan Thanksgiving celebration. I am not a big fan of cooked fruit, but something possessed me to buy fresh, local, organic cranberries when I saw them at the store. I'm so glad that I came across this recipe and I wouldn't change a thing (except that I briefly processed the berries prior to cooking, rather than cooking them whole).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smallu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I made this last Thanksgiving and impressed my entire family. I had never made a chutney before, but this was easy and really good. This chutney is sweet, tart, spicy and delicious. I will be making this every year on Turkey Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Made Thanksgiving 2008 - Some guests totally raved about it saying it was the BEST but most of MY FAMILY did not care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ForeverTERESA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indian Rocks Beach, Florida, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Ginger Pear Cranberry Sauce

This incredibly flavorful cranberry sauce stars candied ginger and fresh pear.

Fresh Cranberry Relish

This no-cook sauce is like a delicious seasonal fruit salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States