Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This is like eating a bite of Heaven! I made this for Thanksgiving and had to print the recipe for 5 family members before they left my house. Absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lake Mary, Florida, USA
Living In: Piedmont, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This is the best cranberry chutney I ever made. I followed the recipe but used red onion. I will make this again and again.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
thanks! i loved this recipe and modified it to be more like a chutney. I added minced super hot chiltepin peppers fresh from my garden, minced candied ginger, plus more powdered ginger, instead of water I used fresh squeezed orange juice, and I used half the sugar, using coconut sugar instead of white or brown sugar. coconut sugar is lower glycemic index and a lot like brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This is a unique chutney. It would be a great accompaniment to sandwiches, roasted poultry, or even as a quick appetizer with a cream cheese block and crackers. If your are looking for a sweet/savory twist on a cranberry riff...this is your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Yum! Why would anyone ever use canned cranberry sauce?! This is so easy and so very tasty. I received a lot of compliments and this will always be a side over the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Absolutely wonderful! Next time I may double it! I served this for a dinner party for 16 people. We had it with turkey... Everyone loved it. I will never have plain cranberries again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I have been making this recipe for years now and we enjoy it year round ( great on waffles instead of syrup ). Like the others have mentioned, the sugar amounts should be adjusted to taste. My spice amounts are always more generous than the recipe specifies. This is still one of my most repeated dishes from Allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I really liked the combination of flavors represented in the list of ingredients, but for my taste, there was way too much sugar. With the sweetness of the raisins and the apple, I cut out the white sugar entirely and reduced the brown sugar to 1/2 cup. I also added 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg and some pecans and walnuts to the mix. And, I thought it lacked acid, so I added juice and zest from one orange. I am making it again today to go with Easter ham, and thought I might try apple cider vinegar for the acid. My husband and I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Yum, this was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockerChick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Seriously delish! Nice balance of flavours - even my hubby loved it - and he's not usually a cranberry fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn V

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Ginger Pear Cranberry Sauce

This incredibly flavorful cranberry sauce stars candied ginger and fresh pear.

Fresh Cranberry Relish

This no-cook sauce is like a delicious seasonal fruit salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States