Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I love it!! This is my 3rd year making it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I've made this for Thanksgiving and Christmas for a few years now, and simply put it is wonderful. It has become known as 'my' cranberry sauce that my family now expects every year (with due credit to you folks of course!). The only modification I make is to not add cloves since my father hates them, and I think it's nice either way. Thanks for this excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
It is good, but the cooking instructions were off. It needed more time to simmer than the recipe instructed. I think all the ingredients could have been added at once. The apples especially took longer to cook, so why add them later? Good flavours though, and we'll see if it's a hit with the turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessMel
Home Town: West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I made this without adding any sugar because I could not find fresh or frozen cranberries, so rather than ditch the recipe I bought a can of whole berry cranberry sauce as a substitute. Knowing that canned cranberries are sweetened already I figured I would omit the sugar and then adjust it if I found it too tart. It was not too tart and I did not need to add any sugar. I made it a day ahead in case it was awful and I had to make something to bring instead. Not only did it turn out, it is outstanding and I could just sit here with a baguette and some brie and stuff myself. I plan on serving it in a baked brie in phyllo. Next time I hope to have fresh cranberries but seriously this was delicious even with the substitution and I would recommend this to anyone. A 5 star recipe for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathercubed
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This is like eating a bite of Heaven! I made this for Thanksgiving and had to print the recipe for 5 family members before they left my house. Absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lake Mary, Florida, USA
Living In: Piedmont, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This is the best cranberry chutney I ever made. I followed the recipe but used red onion. I will make this again and again.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
thanks! i loved this recipe and modified it to be more like a chutney. I added minced super hot chiltepin peppers fresh from my garden, minced candied ginger, plus more powdered ginger, instead of water I used fresh squeezed orange juice, and I used half the sugar, using coconut sugar instead of white or brown sugar. coconut sugar is lower glycemic index and a lot like brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This is a unique chutney. It would be a great accompaniment to sandwiches, roasted poultry, or even as a quick appetizer with a cream cheese block and crackers. If your are looking for a sweet/savory twist on a cranberry riff...this is your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Absolutely wonderful! Next time I may double it! I served this for a dinner party for 16 people. We had it with turkey... Everyone loved it. I will never have plain cranberries again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I have been making this recipe for years now and we enjoy it year round ( great on waffles instead of syrup ). Like the others have mentioned, the sugar amounts should be adjusted to taste. My spice amounts are always more generous than the recipe specifies. This is still one of my most repeated dishes from Allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Spiced Apple Chutney

See how to make a spiced apple sauce that blows regular apple sauce away.

Ginger Pear Cranberry Sauce

This incredibly flavorful cranberry sauce stars candied ginger and fresh pear.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States