Cranberry Apple Stuffed Pork Loin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I made this today using a seasoned cube stuffing mix prepared with onions and celery sauteed in a stick of margarine - I added the diced apple and some chicken stock and then poured all over the stuffing cubes. I added the dried cranberries which I had plumped up in a little hot water and then mixed all together. I spread some of the stuffing on the pork roast which I had prepared according to the directions and then seasoned with salt and pepper. I then rolled up the roast and browned it in a little canola oil on all sides and then roasted to an internal temp of about 145°. I covered the roast with foil and made a gravy out of the pan juices. The remaining stuffing mix that didn't go into the roast was put in a casserole dish and baked during the last 20 minutes of roasting the pork. I've become a huge fan of cranberries in the stuffing. This is definitely a company worthy main course which I will be making again. Hubs isn't the biggest fan of pork but he does eat it. He loves stuffing so that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janmarie1964

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Apalachin, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I have never made a stuffed pork loin before the directions were very easy to follow. I made my own stuffing using rye bread sauteed onions and carrots to which I added the dried cranberry, apple and chopped pecans; I only had spiced glazed pecans but they worked. Instead of water I used apple cider from a local cidery to deglaze the pan. I added this finely diced rye bread and seasoned with thyme, savory, salt and pepper. I made extra stuffing following hints from other reviewers. Rolled and tied I seard the pork loin on the stove top then cooked in a 375 degree oven... This was a big hit with the whole family and I'm pretty sure I will have to make it again, and willingly the recipe is very easy to follow and can be adapted easily to personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laughingmagpie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This was great. Made it for Christmas Eve dinner. Our friends loved it. Make more of the stuffing to serve extra. There was no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer Dill
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Followed recipe exactly. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Dill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Very easy and tasty! I didn't use the chicken flavor stuffing, instead I used a country style and made it with chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I loved this stuffing! I should have taken Baking Nana's advice and prepared the whole bag! This made a beautiful presentation, and I may do it for a dinner party soon. Along with the apple, I used equal amounts of cranberries, pecans, onions, and added 2 stalks of chopped celery. I also brined the pork overnight. Since I had no apple juice on hand, I used water as the liquid in the stuffing. It had plenty of flavor! Thanks for the idea! I served it with fresh steamed broccoli, tossed salad, and potato rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
We loved this roast and have decided it will be our Chrismas Holiday meat dish. I followed the recipe with the following tweaks: Brined pork overnight. Did NOT trim fat from loin. Increased water to 3/4 cup. Added 1/4 cup applebutter to apple, cranberry, pecan mixture. Increased chopped onion to 1/3 cup. Sauteed chopped onions along with 1/3 cup diced celery in 1 tablespoon butter to add to stuffing mixture. Stirred stuffing mixture into apple/cranberry/pecan mixture. After spreading the stuffing on the loin and tying in a roll, I quickly browned in 2 tablespoons olive oil; and placed in roasting pan to bake. I removed the roast when the internal temp reached 145 degrees. Covered with tin foil while I made the gravy from the pan drippings. This was probably the best pork loin roast I've ever eaten . It was so moist and had great flavor. It tasted like the best comfort food you could have. I served with sliced oven roasted sweet potatoes, applesauce and sour dough rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. I did make a few changes - As pork loin can be a little too lean - I brined the pork. I don't usually buy Stovetop stuffing but I did have a bag of Mrs. Cubison's Cubed Stuffing. I made the whole bag of the stuffing - used some in the pork roast and served the rest on the side. I sauted the apples, dried cranberries & pecans as well as adding 2 stalks of celery and half a chopped onion with 1/2 a stick of butter. Used about 1 1/2 cups chicken broth to make up the stuffing. My pork loin was really thick - rather than trying to pound it thin I laid it on it's side as directed and sliced to within a 1/2 inch of the other side, laid it open like a book and then from the center of the roast sliced it both to the right and again to the left - folding back the meat. I ended up with a nice thin rectangle of pork. Spread the stuffing on the pork and rolled it up like a jelly roll. I didn't need to tie mine with kitchen twine. I notice that most recipes for pork roast call for cooking to 160 degrees....which can lead to dried out meat. I cooked mine to 140 - 145. Let rest while I made gravy out of the pan drippings (which were beautiful). Final internal temp. was about 150. Served with baked potatoes, green beans and Cranberry, Apple Apricot sauce. Delish! Thanks for an inspiring recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I had some rye bread that was getting stale, so I used that as the basis for homemade stuffing to which I added sauted onion, apple, celery and a link of hot Italian sausage. I used apple juice and butter to moisten the stuffing. I baked half the stuffing as a side dish. I basted the whole roast with apple juice 3 or 4 times while baking (about an hour) I served this with roasted cauliflower, string beans and mashed potato. Somehow, I never remembered to buy cranberries, so they weren't used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by mickdee
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
We enjoyed this! I followed the recipe for the most part but used Peppridge Farm Herb Seasoned Cubed Stuffing (made as directed, cooled) and added a 1/4 cup chopped celery in addition to the other ingredients (For other stuffings I would sautee but don't with a chop recipe I have so thought I would follow the recipe on this). I tied it up every 3 inches, then basted with a Maple/Dijon baste of 2 heaping tablespoons Dijon mustard to 1 cup real maple syrup and did so every 15 minutes. I have a convection oven so I backed off the temp to 300 after the first 15 as I was concerned it was cooking too fast and would be dry. Removed from oven about 150 temp and let rest. My husband said it had a nice flavor and enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed and Rolled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make pork tenderloin stuffed with herbs, garlic, and currants.

Grilled Pork Loin Chops

Watch how to marinate and grill pork loin chops.

Maple-Brined Roasted Pork Loin

Make a simple brine and delicious maple glaze for roasted pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States