Cranberry Apple Stuffed Pork Loin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I make a very similar recipe using apple and sausage enhanced cornbread stuffing. The process of butterflying the pork loin roast is very nicely explained. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisewoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
A very good and impressive dish. I made a whole package of seasoned cubed stuffing, but the extra in a baking dish and served it as a side dish. I added some sage to the stuffing and lightly dusted the outside of the loin with it as well. I baked the loin in an elevated roasting dish and made gravy out of the drippings. Added some onion powder and garlic powder to the gravy to make it a bit more robust. I plan on making this again but will experiment a bit. Will cook up some wild rice/brown rice mushroom stuffing and try that. Something just a bit more earthy and less sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I made this today using a seasoned cube stuffing mix prepared with onions and celery sauteed in a stick of margarine - I added the diced apple and some chicken stock and then poured all over the stuffing cubes. I added the dried cranberries which I had plumped up in a little hot water and then mixed all together. I spread some of the stuffing on the pork roast which I had prepared according to the directions and then seasoned with salt and pepper. I then rolled up the roast and browned it in a little canola oil on all sides and then roasted to an internal temp of about 145°. I covered the roast with foil and made a gravy out of the pan juices. The remaining stuffing mix that didn't go into the roast was put in a casserole dish and baked during the last 20 minutes of roasting the pork. I've become a huge fan of cranberries in the stuffing. This is definitely a company worthy main course which I will be making again. Hubs isn't the biggest fan of pork but he does eat it. He loves stuffing so that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janmarie1964

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Apalachin, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I have never made a stuffed pork loin before the directions were very easy to follow. I made my own stuffing using rye bread sauteed onions and carrots to which I added the dried cranberry, apple and chopped pecans; I only had spiced glazed pecans but they worked. Instead of water I used apple cider from a local cidery to deglaze the pan. I added this finely diced rye bread and seasoned with thyme, savory, salt and pepper. I made extra stuffing following hints from other reviewers. Rolled and tied I seard the pork loin on the stove top then cooked in a 375 degree oven... This was a big hit with the whole family and I'm pretty sure I will have to make it again, and willingly the recipe is very easy to follow and can be adapted easily to personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laughingmagpie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This was very good, but I did make my own stuffing as I just couldn't wrap my head around chicken stuffing with pork. I did include the cranberries, pecans and apple in the stuffing. I also did not trim my fat for cooking. I used a bit of applejuice to moisten my stuffing and glad I did, I think it would have dry. I served it with a sweet potatoe mash and green beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I loved this stuffing! I should have taken Baking Nana's advice and prepared the whole bag! This made a beautiful presentation, and I may do it for a dinner party soon. Along with the apple, I used equal amounts of cranberries, pecans, onions, and added 2 stalks of chopped celery. I also brined the pork overnight. Since I had no apple juice on hand, I used water as the liquid in the stuffing. It had plenty of flavor! Thanks for the idea! I served it with fresh steamed broccoli, tossed salad, and potato rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I had some rye bread that was getting stale, so I used that as the basis for homemade stuffing to which I added sauted onion, apple, celery and a link of hot Italian sausage. I used apple juice and butter to moisten the stuffing. I baked half the stuffing as a side dish. I basted the whole roast with apple juice 3 or 4 times while baking (about an hour) I served this with roasted cauliflower, string beans and mashed potato. Somehow, I never remembered to buy cranberries, so they weren't used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
this was good, I left the apples and cranberries as a side condiment and stuffed the pork with homemade stuffing. Roasted for 1 hr and the juices ran clear so I took it out and let it sit covered for 10 minutes. Tasty, cook times will vary with the thickness of the pork loin. So glad we 911ed this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
We loved this roast and have decided it will be our Chrismas Holiday meat dish. I followed the recipe with the following tweaks: Brined pork overnight. Did NOT trim fat from loin. Increased water to 3/4 cup. Added 1/4 cup applebutter to apple, cranberry, pecan mixture. Increased chopped onion to 1/3 cup. Sauteed chopped onions along with 1/3 cup diced celery in 1 tablespoon butter to add to stuffing mixture. Stirred stuffing mixture into apple/cranberry/pecan mixture. After spreading the stuffing on the loin and tying in a roll, I quickly browned in 2 tablespoons olive oil; and placed in roasting pan to bake. I removed the roast when the internal temp reached 145 degrees. Covered with tin foil while I made the gravy from the pan drippings. This was probably the best pork loin roast I've ever eaten . It was so moist and had great flavor. It tasted like the best comfort food you could have. I served with sliced oven roasted sweet potatoes, applesauce and sour dough rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Photo by mickdee
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
We enjoyed this! I followed the recipe for the most part but used Peppridge Farm Herb Seasoned Cubed Stuffing (made as directed, cooled) and added a 1/4 cup chopped celery in addition to the other ingredients (For other stuffings I would sautee but don't with a chop recipe I have so thought I would follow the recipe on this). I tied it up every 3 inches, then basted with a Maple/Dijon baste of 2 heaping tablespoons Dijon mustard to 1 cup real maple syrup and did so every 15 minutes. I have a convection oven so I backed off the temp to 300 after the first 15 as I was concerned it was cooking too fast and would be dry. Removed from oven about 150 temp and let rest. My husband said it had a nice flavor and enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed and Rolled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make pork tenderloin stuffed with herbs, garlic, and currants.

Maple-Brined Roasted Pork Loin

Make a simple brine and delicious maple glaze for roasted pork.

How to Stuff a Pork Loin

See how to butterfly, stuff, tie, and roast a pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States