Cranberry Apple Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Easy to make. A little tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This is exactly what I've been looking for, since canned cranberry sauces are too sweet. This recipe is for those who like the tartness of cranberries, but you can gradually add sugar to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yokidneybean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I loved it and it was healthy! YAY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by balletalyssa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
This is awesome if you don't mind your cranberry sauce on the tart side. I doubled the amount of apple concentrate and used this with 12 oz of cranberries. This was the perfect sweetness for me. No need for extra sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
Loved this recipe! I like my cranberries not to sweet, still on the tart side, so the apple juice concentrate was enough sweetener (didn't add sugar). Plus, the juice is a healthier natural sweetener instead of refined sugar. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAJG

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
I tried this with a little different tack: I used 7 pared and chopped apples (not peeled), and two bags of cranberries. Then I crocked it for 12 hours. It turned out very tart--I added about a 1/4 c. of white sugar--and not quite as 'apple saucy'-as I wanted. I think next time I'll raise the apple-to-cranberry ratio, maybe with same # of apples but only one bag of cranberries. This left me with 1 1/2 qt of sauce, plenty for a large dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Dinsmore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
This recipe has become a fall favorite for our family, including our four-year old son. The tartness is a matter of taste; we find it just right as we do not use refined sugar in general.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
This is good stuff! I wasn't able to find unsweetened apple juice concentrate (even at the health food store!), so I just used the kind with sugar. I was actually glad I did, because it is definitely tart! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Chef John's Mango Cranberry Sauce

See how to make mango cranberry sauce with a secret kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States