Cranberry Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This pie was a hit! The most labor intensive part is the peeling and cutting of the apples. I washed with soap, used a cutter/corer, then peeled each piece by hand, then sliced in a food processor. I would change one thing - The first line of the directions states to “combine the first seven ingredients” then put in the apples and toss. The first seven ingredients include OJ and lemon juice. Once these hit the dry ingredients, it makes a paste and makes it very difficult to coat the apples. I broke up a bunch of apple slices by trying to get them to coat too vigorously. I would toss the apples with the dry, then add the wet to the whole shebang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
Outstanding! Made it for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. I'm making it again for a work Christmas party tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Natick, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Maumelle, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Finally! A recipe that doesn't use pre-made canned cranberry sauce, but rather whole berries! I would toss the apples and berrries with the fruit juices first, then toss that mixture with the dry ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I never made a Cranberry Apple Pie and my whole family loved this one. I loved the concept of the flavor and spice combination blended into this recipe. I also made my own whole wheat piecrust and took the concept of the orange juice and added it to the crust instead of all water - talk about bursting with flavor - I did cut back the sugar to 1 1/4 cups instead of using 2 cups. 1/2 cup turbinado, 1/2 white and 1/4 cup light brown sugar. I also brushed the crust with milk before baking and sprinkled additional turbinado sugar on crust. This is definitely a keeper - Thanks :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairview, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
man is this recipe great, its simple but yields such an excellent pie its amazing. Two thumbs up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This was wonderful! I cut back the sugar a tiny bit. I used 1 cup white sugar and about 3/4 cup brown. It was still plenty sweet. I also used an extra tablespoon of cornstarch as someone recommended, and mixed the dry ingredients with the apples and cranberries before adding the OJ and lemon juice. Oh, and I used Honeycrisp apples which were a great mild compliment to the cranberries. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Wonderful! I cut back on the sugar to 1-1/2 cups, used unpeeled Granny Smith apples and fresh cranberries, and added a little bit more OJ. It was on the tart-side the way our family likes it! Very easy--so glad to use fresh/frozen cranberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This was really yummy! One of my favorite pies! However, it is verrrrrry runny. Too runny. I read other reviews warning about how runny it was, so I added more cornstarch--however it was still not enough. Next time I think I'll add some flour to the dry ingredients as well as a little extra cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashliemarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hereford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
This was a hit! I made this for our 2nd Annual "Pie Day" at work, and it was the first to be eaten! I did make changes, because I don't like terribly sweet pies, so I cut the amount of sugar down. I used 1 cup white sugar, and 1/2 cup light brown sugar. I didn't have any apple pie spice so I increased the amount of cinnamon to 1 tsp., nutmeg I added 1/4 tsp., and I also added a couple dashes of ground cloves. I baked my pie how I normally bake an apple pie, oven set at 400 for 50 minutes (30 of that the edges were covered, and 20 minutes fully uncovered). It was delicious! Next time, I may add a little orange zest to pick up the orange flavor, but as is it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Mmmm! So yummy! I followed another reveiwers suggestion and added more spice. It turned out sooo yummy. I will definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveCookin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States