Cranberry Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This pie was a hit! The most labor intensive part is the peeling and cutting of the apples. I washed with soap, used a cutter/corer, then peeled each piece by hand, then sliced in a food processor. I would change one thing - The first line of the directions states to “combine the first seven ingredients” then put in the apples and toss. The first seven ingredients include OJ and lemon juice. Once these hit the dry ingredients, it makes a paste and makes it very difficult to coat the apples. I broke up a bunch of apple slices by trying to get them to coat too vigorously. I would toss the apples with the dry, then add the wet to the whole shebang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
Outstanding! Made it for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. I'm making it again for a work Christmas party tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Natick, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Maumelle, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Very very sweet...too sweet for my family. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Finally! A recipe that doesn't use pre-made canned cranberry sauce, but rather whole berries! I would toss the apples and berrries with the fruit juices first, then toss that mixture with the dry ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
My daughter asked me if this pie sounded good for her first Thanksgiving Dinner . . . (anything with cranberries I would crinch) . . . however, it was delicious, not tardy, not sweet and a "for sure" pie for future dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I never made a Cranberry Apple Pie and my whole family loved this one. I loved the concept of the flavor and spice combination blended into this recipe. I also made my own whole wheat piecrust and took the concept of the orange juice and added it to the crust instead of all water - talk about bursting with flavor - I did cut back the sugar to 1 1/4 cups instead of using 2 cups. 1/2 cup turbinado, 1/2 white and 1/4 cup light brown sugar. I also brushed the crust with milk before baking and sprinkled additional turbinado sugar on crust. This is definitely a keeper - Thanks :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairview, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Very good-- I substituted a little more cinnamon and apple pie spice. Next time I'll add more cornstarch and less juice- the pie was very runny and didn't set until it had been in the fridge for a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
The flavor of this pie was top notch. However, don't plan on eating this pie warm....it is extremely runny. You will need to refrigerate it until it sets up, but dont let that deter you...its really excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
man is this recipe great, its simple but yields such an excellent pie its amazing. Two thumbs up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Made this Christmas day to rave reviews from all who ate it! The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that I think it was a bit runny. It needs another heaping teaspoon of cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States