Cranberry Apple Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I make this pie every year for Thanksgiving and its wonderful. I use quick oats instead of breadcrumbs in the topping and less flour. Similar to the topping for an apple crisp. If you like traditional apple pie, you will love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
This was a great recipe. I was looking for something a little different from your traditional cranberry apple pie and this definately fit the bill. I altered the recipe a little bit, these are the things I changed: - I used about 1/2 of the sugar called for (it was sweet enough like that) - I used 1/3 cup maple syrup to give it a little more maple taste - I used pecans instead of walnuts - I didn't use the topping, but topped it with another pie crust. I did not have any problems with it being too much as some of the other reviews, it was just the right size. Even my husband who doesn't like cranberries liked this pie! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjlund

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
Amazing and Scrumptious!!! This recipe made it to my all-time favorites collection. I can't help but vary a recipe, so I added a sprinkling of cinnamon to the topping, and replaced some of the breadcrumbs with wheatgerm (for a little extra nutrition). YUM! By the way, though, the recipe makes enough topping for 2 pies and since I used large Granny Smith apples, there was enough filling for 2 pies as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
I have been making this pie for quite some time now (don't know why I didn't review it before now!) and it's consistently amazing. In fact, this is my most requested pie, and I make a variety of pies! The balance in this recipe is just perfect - the right amount of tartness, sweetness, crunch - everything. I don't change a thing about it. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
This is a delicious pie. This was the first pie I ever made and it turned out wonderfully! I used 1 cup of fresh cranberries and one cup of Craisins and I only used approximately 3 apples (a mix of granny smith, golden delicious, and gala). The filling was delicious and I was eating that all by itself. I do have to say that the topping makes way too much for one pie and cutting it was difficult because the topping crumbled too much. Next time, I would basically use the same recipe with maybe one more apple and make two pies from it. The taste is delicious! I never realized that pies are not that difficult and am excited to try other ones from this website. Thanks! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Everyone at my Thanksgiving dinner loved this pie. I only made a couple of minor changes. I added some cinnamon and nutmeg in the filling to make it more similar to a regular apple pie and it was delicious. I also made a lattice-type top crust on top of the crumb topping (using strips of pre-made pie crust) brushed with egg white for shine & sprinkled with white sugar for looks. I thought next time it may be fun to experiment with the maple syrup content and add a little bit more to see how it comes out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Morristown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
Very good, although a little time consuming. Makes the house smell fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
very quick and simple with little cleanup. the crumb top adds a nice texture to compliment the smooth sweet filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
I served this at Thanksgiving and EVERYONE absolutely loved it! I created a topping of oats, flour, butter and a pinch of cinnamon. The pie was sweet and had a wonderful crunch from the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
Excellent. Not as tart as I feared it might be. The maple syrup adds a nice hint of flavor. Everyone loved it at Christmas dinner. Topping browned up slightly crunchy to add a nice texture. Good food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States