Cranberry Apple Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
I have been making this pie for quite some time now (don't know why I didn't review it before now!) and it's consistently amazing. In fact, this is my most requested pie, and I make a variety of pies! The balance in this recipe is just perfect - the right amount of tartness, sweetness, crunch - everything. I don't change a thing about it. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
Very good, although a little time consuming. Makes the house smell fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
The filling for this pie is one of the most delicious I have ever had! It was just the perfect amount of tart mixed with sweet. Had a little too much crumb topping, and I think when I make it again I might add more brown sugar and cinnamon to the topping. Also, I used a mixture of mostly Granny Smith apples but red apples too. Overall, this was a great recipe, and I will make it over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
very quick and simple with little cleanup. the crumb top adds a nice texture to compliment the smooth sweet filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
Wonderful pie! I love serving this rather than plain apple. My husband thought it was a little too tart, but my guests disagreed. Depends on how much you like cranberries I guess. I thought it was perfect just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
this was great! people loved it!--- however, i had wayyy too much of the crumb topping left, like more than half of what the recipe calls for. also, i used about ten apples, not five. the results were fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
way too sweet! too much sugar!it was enough for 2 pies, not one! the topping was falling down. you just can't estimate when baking. And whoever wrote this recipe, thats what they did, estimate. awfull! next time use less sugar and less of everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
WOW! This is really yummy. Not sure if I am loving the walnuts though. I think pecans may go better. Also, the filling is enough for almost 2 pies. Next time I will use one 9" "deep dish" pie crust or cut the recipe down if I use a regular 9". It is quite sweet, so I may try cutting back a bit on the sugar as well the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
I served this at Thanksgiving and EVERYONE absolutely loved it! I created a topping of oats, flour, butter and a pinch of cinnamon. The pie was sweet and had a wonderful crunch from the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
Awesome! I made a few changes because one of my children is a picky eater, so I omitted the walnuts from the pie filling, and borrowed another recipe's streusel (The Brown Family's Pumpkin Pie, from this site)for the topping, using chopped pecans instead of walnuts. I added a couple more apples and it was plenty for two pies. My family LOVED it! It is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States