Cranberry Apple Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
This was a great recipe. I was looking for something a little different from your traditional cranberry apple pie and this definately fit the bill. I altered the recipe a little bit, these are the things I changed: - I used about 1/2 of the sugar called for (it was sweet enough like that) - I used 1/3 cup maple syrup to give it a little more maple taste - I used pecans instead of walnuts - I didn't use the topping, but topped it with another pie crust. I did not have any problems with it being too much as some of the other reviews, it was just the right size. Even my husband who doesn't like cranberries liked this pie! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjlund

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I liked the filling of this pie, but the breadcrumbs on top was strange and there seemed too be way too much crumb topping. This was very easy to make, but I think I will just put another crust on top next time, or try the oats like other reviewers suggest. I give the filling 5 stars but as written I give the recipe a 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gallus Gurl
Home Town: Roselle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I make this pie every year for Thanksgiving and its wonderful. I use quick oats instead of breadcrumbs in the topping and less flour. Similar to the topping for an apple crisp. If you like traditional apple pie, you will love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
I baked this as a fruit crumble/cobbler, and it was delicious! To save on calories and time, I topped the fruit with oats, brown sugar, margarine, wheat germ, and a little maple syrup. I made the filling as the recipe said, just adding a little lemon juice to the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ann marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
I thought this was pretty good, although I would make a few changes the next time I make it. I used 3 granny smith, 3 golden delicious and 1 gala and I thought that was a perfect amount for the filling. I would halve the amount of topping I made, threw out a lot of it. I would not add much sugar to the cranberry mixture, just my preference but I dont usually put sugar in my apple pies. I would also tweak the topping a bit, make it more interesting. Maybe use oats, not breadcrumbs, and turn it into more of a crumble topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
This is yummy! It's more like a twist on apple crisp than apple pie, in my opinion. I wasn't sure I was going to like it because I scorched the sugar a bit while cooking it, which gave everything a not-so-appetizing smell. I used 6 2-1/2" Macintosh apples and had just the right amount of filling. I added extra sugar to the crumb topping because I used whole wheat flour and breadcrumbs, and it turned out delicious - I used up the leftovers on oatmeal. The combination of apples, cranberries, and walnuts in this dish is great. It was good warm with vanilla ice cream, but I preferred it cold the next night. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
OK, I'm starting the low carb tomorrow, I swear. But I will never start it with this pie in the house! My husband makes pies and his signature pie is his apple pie. However, around the holidays we like to add a little variety and this is just the recipe we're going to use to spice up the pie business! Thank you for the submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
I have been making this pie for quite some time now (don't know why I didn't review it before now!) and it's consistently amazing. In fact, this is my most requested pie, and I make a variety of pies! The balance in this recipe is just perfect - the right amount of tartness, sweetness, crunch - everything. I don't change a thing about it. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
Very good, although a little time consuming. Makes the house smell fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
The filling for this pie is one of the most delicious I have ever had! It was just the perfect amount of tart mixed with sweet. Had a little too much crumb topping, and I think when I make it again I might add more brown sugar and cinnamon to the topping. Also, I used a mixture of mostly Granny Smith apples but red apples too. Overall, this was a great recipe, and I will make it over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States