Cranberry Apple Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Excellent recipe, which certainly deserves 5 stars, even though it turned out different from what I had expected. Thank you for sharing! I 1-1/2-folded the recipe (except the topping, as other reviewers had already written that this is almost enough for two pies) and made two pies. I substituted quick oats for the bread crumbs in the topping. I used "Grandma Ruth's Pie Crust" from this site (1/2 the amounts in the recipe, and whole grain flour), and spiced it up with 1/4 teaspoon of ground cloves and a tablespoon of rum. Very yummy! For my taste, the cranberry-apple filling is a bit too sweet, but my husband and the kids loved it. Next time, I will reduce the sugar to about 3/4 or 1 cups. I also think that the baked pie tasted a bit like plum pie, maybe adding 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon to the mixture wasn't a good idea. Next time, I will not add the apples to the cranberries and cook them, but prepare the cranberry filling, and then add spoonfuls of apples and cranberry filling to the pie, without blending them. Maybe then I will get a taste as I expected it to be. The topping is great with oats, I sprinkled it with 1 tablespoon of lemon juice, which gave it a refreshing twist. I also forgot to add the nuts to the filling, so I put them onto the pie before the topping, so that the nuts were "roasted" while baking, which turned out to be great! Perhaps next time, I will also add some mini chocolate morsels to the topping, I think the kids will like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vestalia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boalsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I just made a normal apple pie and added the cranberry filling to it. Really quite a scrumptious addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liltagg
Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Delicious! I love the tart flavor the cranberries add to the sweetness of the traditional apple pie. I don't even like apple pie, but couldn't stop eating this! It's definitely a CRANBERRY-apple pie, not apple-cranberry. Next time I'll probably use a few less cranberries, but loved it anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJackson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This pie is fantastic! I've made it twice now and we gobble it up. :) I definitely need a deep dish crust for the filling and like others subbed oats for the bread crumbs. Thanks for a delicious recipe! I'm sure it would be great with the bread crumbs; we just prefer the oats. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
The flavor was great but mine was unattactive for a holiday pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Honestly, the best pie I have ever made. Everyone was so impressed. I also used oats instead of breadcrumbs and it came out yummy. I will say though, that it is pretty messy to cut and serve but well worth it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mans wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Everyone at my Thanksgiving dinner loved this pie. I only made a couple of minor changes. I added some cinnamon and nutmeg in the filling to make it more similar to a regular apple pie and it was delicious. I also made a lattice-type top crust on top of the crumb topping (using strips of pre-made pie crust) brushed with egg white for shine & sprinkled with white sugar for looks. I thought next time it may be fun to experiment with the maple syrup content and add a little bit more to see how it comes out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Morristown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Perhaps I added too many cranberries -I used the full bag minus a few odd berries...I don't like wasting berries >.>;- but this wasn't what I was expecting...a bit more like cranberry sauce on soft apples than an apple pie with cranberry accents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clara <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Wow this was good. it was my first pie ever and i made it for thanks giving. at first when i was striring everything in the pan i thought something was wrong and i was scrared that it was gonna be a disaster but i just followed the recipe and it turned out great. everyone at my dinner was impressed which made me feel good because i love cooking but im new at it. thanks for the recipe xoxo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
VERY, very good! I make this at Thanksgivig and everyone LOVES it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy Dunbar

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States