Cranberry Apple Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Delicious! Followed the recipe to a "t" and added lattice crust over the breadcrumb topping. This was a hit at Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Outstanding! Fabulous combination of sweet & tart, used Granny Smith apples & cut the topping in half as suggested. Everybody loved it for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Made this for Thanksgiving and it didn't survive the night. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Wonderful pie! Not too sweet, the way I like it. Everyone loved it, I only got one small piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Well I started this pie and I was little unsure if I could pull this off. I followed the recipe as stated. All I have to say is WOW! My family really never eats apple pie, but they gobbled this all up. Making 2 more tomorrow for friends that were over! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I made this pie for Christmas Eve. It was very easy. I also used oats instead of bread crumbs and it was very good. I did notice that the crumb topping was a bit loose... will add a bit more butter next time. I used pre-made frozen pie shells and actually got two pies out of this recipe. Anyway, it is delicious and I would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Excellent recipe, which certainly deserves 5 stars, even though it turned out different from what I had expected. Thank you for sharing! I 1-1/2-folded the recipe (except the topping, as other reviewers had already written that this is almost enough for two pies) and made two pies. I substituted quick oats for the bread crumbs in the topping. I used "Grandma Ruth's Pie Crust" from this site (1/2 the amounts in the recipe, and whole grain flour), and spiced it up with 1/4 teaspoon of ground cloves and a tablespoon of rum. Very yummy! For my taste, the cranberry-apple filling is a bit too sweet, but my husband and the kids loved it. Next time, I will reduce the sugar to about 3/4 or 1 cups. I also think that the baked pie tasted a bit like plum pie, maybe adding 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon to the mixture wasn't a good idea. Next time, I will not add the apples to the cranberries and cook them, but prepare the cranberry filling, and then add spoonfuls of apples and cranberry filling to the pie, without blending them. Maybe then I will get a taste as I expected it to be. The topping is great with oats, I sprinkled it with 1 tablespoon of lemon juice, which gave it a refreshing twist. I also forgot to add the nuts to the filling, so I put them onto the pie before the topping, so that the nuts were "roasted" while baking, which turned out to be great! Perhaps next time, I will also add some mini chocolate morsels to the topping, I think the kids will like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vestalia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boalsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I just made a normal apple pie and added the cranberry filling to it. Really quite a scrumptious addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liltagg
Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Delicious! I love the tart flavor the cranberries add to the sweetness of the traditional apple pie. I don't even like apple pie, but couldn't stop eating this! It's definitely a CRANBERRY-apple pie, not apple-cranberry. Next time I'll probably use a few less cranberries, but loved it anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJackson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This pie is fantastic! I've made it twice now and we gobble it up. :) I definitely need a deep dish crust for the filling and like others subbed oats for the bread crumbs. Thanks for a delicious recipe! I'm sure it would be great with the bread crumbs; we just prefer the oats. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States