Cranberry Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
I left out the pie crust and put this into a square baking dish to make into a cranberry apple crisp instead of a pie and it was fantastic! The topping is really to die for. I liked the tartness of the cranberries, they will certainly make you pucker a little, if you like more sweet than tart add more sugar or a drizzle of maple syrup. I brought this to a family gathering and everyone loved it, lots of people commented that it tasted like a rhubarb recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Vermont, USA
Living In: Mansfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
I saved this recipe in 2004 and made it many times. It's this time of the year to dig it out once again. Simply one of my favorites! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
My family loved this pie! It had the perfect blend of sweet/tart taste. Based on others reviews, I used only 4 apples & 1/2 pkg (6oz) of cranberries, and it was plenty! It filled one 9" store bought deep-dish pie crust, and had enough filling leftover to fill 6 tart shells. I added chopped walnuts to the streusel topping which tasted great. Before baking, I wrapped foil around the edge of the crust so it wouldn't burn during the baking which allowed the topping to get nice and brown & crisp. Excellent. I will be making another one for Christmas using the other half package of cranberries I have waiting for me in the freezer. Thanks Blythe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Glendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
For Christmas Dinner, I made a chocolate cream pie, pumpkin pie, Grandma Opal's apple pie and this! My family is full of great bakers and we all agreed, this is the best dessert of all! I made it as a crisp, using a 9 x 13 pan, no bottom crust, and reduced the butter by half. No need to chop the cranberries. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
This has become my husband's favorite dessert. It was fairly easy to make. I didn't prebake my crust and it came out fine....I just brushed the crust with egg white before I added the filling to get that pretty golden brown and crispy appearence after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
I had a piece of Cranberry Apple pie that I loved from a restaurant and wanted to make one for my family. This recipe was easy and very good, especially the streusel topping--my kids (ages 7 and 4)ate two pieces and wanted more! But something was a little off for me--it was too sweet. I sprinked a tiny bit of salt on my second piece, and it made all the difference. It toned down the sweetness a little and made the taste richer. Next time I make this, I will add 1/4-1/2 tsp. salt to the fruit mix. Thanks for a great recipe, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2000
Oh My! It's just doesn't get any better than this! This is absolutely the BEST apple pie I have ever had. It is such a dense pie and the sweet/tart taste is not only irresistable but downright addicting!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
I made a version of this for my weddnig reception (made ahead and froze) However I used a can of whole berry cranberry sauce in place of the fresh cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarylandGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joppa, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
Great holiday pie! I made 3 for this Christmas and everyone loved it, even my Dad who is an old-fashioned apple pie lover!!! I did change the recipe however and only put in 1/2 of the bag of cranberries which made it not so tart! Thanks...Great Pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
This has become a Christmas tradition, I use about half a package of frozen cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States