Cranberry Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
I left out the pie crust and put this into a square baking dish to make into a cranberry apple crisp instead of a pie and it was fantastic! The topping is really to die for. I liked the tartness of the cranberries, they will certainly make you pucker a little, if you like more sweet than tart add more sugar or a drizzle of maple syrup. I brought this to a family gathering and everyone loved it, lots of people commented that it tasted like a rhubarb recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Vermont, USA
Living In: Mansfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
I saved this recipe in 2004 and made it many times. It's this time of the year to dig it out once again. Simply one of my favorites! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
My family loved this pie! It had the perfect blend of sweet/tart taste. Based on others reviews, I used only 4 apples & 1/2 pkg (6oz) of cranberries, and it was plenty! It filled one 9" store bought deep-dish pie crust, and had enough filling leftover to fill 6 tart shells. I added chopped walnuts to the streusel topping which tasted great. Before baking, I wrapped foil around the edge of the crust so it wouldn't burn during the baking which allowed the topping to get nice and brown & crisp. Excellent. I will be making another one for Christmas using the other half package of cranberries I have waiting for me in the freezer. Thanks Blythe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Glendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
For Christmas Dinner, I made a chocolate cream pie, pumpkin pie, Grandma Opal's apple pie and this! My family is full of great bakers and we all agreed, this is the best dessert of all! I made it as a crisp, using a 9 x 13 pan, no bottom crust, and reduced the butter by half. No need to chop the cranberries. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
This has become my husband's favorite dessert. It was fairly easy to make. I didn't prebake my crust and it came out fine....I just brushed the crust with egg white before I added the filling to get that pretty golden brown and crispy appearence after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
I had a piece of Cranberry Apple pie that I loved from a restaurant and wanted to make one for my family. This recipe was easy and very good, especially the streusel topping--my kids (ages 7 and 4)ate two pieces and wanted more! But something was a little off for me--it was too sweet. I sprinked a tiny bit of salt on my second piece, and it made all the difference. It toned down the sweetness a little and made the taste richer. Next time I make this, I will add 1/4-1/2 tsp. salt to the fruit mix. Thanks for a great recipe, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2000
Oh My! It's just doesn't get any better than this! This is absolutely the BEST apple pie I have ever had. It is such a dense pie and the sweet/tart taste is not only irresistable but downright addicting!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
I made a version of this for my weddnig reception (made ahead and froze) However I used a can of whole berry cranberry sauce in place of the fresh cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Bachmann Chaney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joppa, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
Great holiday pie! I made 3 for this Christmas and everyone loved it, even my Dad who is an old-fashioned apple pie lover!!! I did change the recipe however and only put in 1/2 of the bag of cranberries which made it not so tart! Thanks...Great Pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
This has become a Christmas tradition, I use about half a package of frozen cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States