Cranberry Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
I thought this pie was pretty good. It turned out very red due to the cranberries. Mine was also a little dry. I guess I prefer more filling in pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
My husband loved it! I'm not a big fan of cranberries but this pie was great. I followed a different crust recipe that used frozen butter and shortning. What a diffrenece, the crust was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
Very Good. Brought it to work and it was devoured! I thought it had too many cranberries in it which made it tart, but if that is what you like then this is your pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
My family loved this pie! It had the perfect blend of sweet/tart taste. Based on others reviews, I used only 4 apples & 1/2 pkg (6oz) of cranberries, and it was plenty! It filled one 9" store bought deep-dish pie crust, and had enough filling leftover to fill 6 tart shells. I added chopped walnuts to the streusel topping which tasted great. Before baking, I wrapped foil around the edge of the crust so it wouldn't burn during the baking which allowed the topping to get nice and brown & crisp. Excellent. I will be making another one for Christmas using the other half package of cranberries I have waiting for me in the freezer. Thanks Blythe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Glendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
WOW! This is really yummy. Not sure if I am loving the walnuts though. I think pecans may go better. Also, the filling is enough for almost 2 pies. Next time I will use one 9" "deep dish" pie crust or cut the recipe down if I use a regular 9".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2004
Wow! Best pie I've ever made! My pies NEVER come out right. I made about 5 at Christmas and every one of them turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
Like others, I found that this recipe made a ridiculous amount of filling. I made one deep dish pie, and just threw the rest of the filling into a casserole dish to make a very large crisp. I only ended up using 5 apples and still had this much filling. Way too much topping too. Another thing...chopping the cranberries was an unneccessary pain, and I think it would have turned out nicer if I'd left them whole. But, complaints aside, it did taste really great. I have to say though that the crisp tasted better than the pie. The pie crust almost seemed to get in the way. Will make again as a crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
The cranberries turned the filling pink and made for a pretty presentation. Served it to relatives at Thanksgiving, and they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
I thought it was a very good pie, we enjoyed it. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
Very tasty! I would recommend either having two pie shells ready or making the remainder of the filling into a cobbler. I just put the remainder of the filling in a cake pan and used the topping and popped it into the oven with the pie and it was just delicious! I'd make this recipe again in a heartbeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States