Cranberry Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Pretty good recipe. I agreed with a lot of people that it would be easier and just as good to make as a crisp. My only suggestion would be to make the topping sweeter, it was a little bland. And maybe do something to bring down the tartness of the cranberries... maybe if I used a different kind of apple (I used granny smith like suggested). Overall it was pretty good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
This came out very nicely for Thanksgiving - I like the tartness of cranberry and will probably add a little more next time. Topping was yummy, but got a little too hard - maybe I just overcooked it. Anyway - I will make this again! I made this again for A GIRL SCOUT BAKE SALE - KEPT A CLOSER EYE ON THE STRUESEL CRUST THIS TIME AND IT CAME OUT PERFECT. I LOVE THIS PIE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca S. Roth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
I was excited about this pie when it was baking the night before Thanksgiving. I typically only use 5 star recipes when I'm trying something new for a public occasion. Unfortunately, my pie turned out VERY watery. I ended up having to stop at a grocery store on the way to dinner to pick up a pie. I have made various pies before and they have turned out well, but since I can admit I'm no Betty Crocker, I tried it again last night, making sure that I followed the recipe exactly. I had the same problem. It does make a great cobbler though! It tastes great, I just couldn't get it to stay as pie slices due to the liquidity of the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This was great. Much more exciting than plain apple pie. I will definitely be making it again. I was also glad this called for fresh cranberries, since most others I found called for canned cranberries. I think I added more apples than the recipe called for (6 apples is not very descriptive as apples come in all different sizes) so it looked like a 50/50 mix of cranberries and apples. After the pie was filled I baked the leftovers as you would an apple crumble and it was also great. This was more than enough strusel topping, and that next time, I will add some chopped walnuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: St.Thomas, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
The pie tastes delicious (I like tart pies, like rhubarb), but I definitely recommend AGAINST inverting the pie shell to bake it, as described in step 1. All this did for me was rip my crust so that I had to start over again. Makes a lot of filling, but that was a good excuse for me to make a second pie. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
I used no crust, but a bit of the topping under the filling. WOW! What a combo. Loved the flavor under vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
I left out the pie crust and put this into a square baking dish to make into a cranberry apple crisp instead of a pie and it was fantastic! The topping is really to die for. I liked the tartness of the cranberries, they will certainly make you pucker a little, if you like more sweet than tart add more sugar or a drizzle of maple syrup. I brought this to a family gathering and everyone loved it, lots of people commented that it tasted like a rhubarb recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Vermont, USA
Living In: Mansfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
I made a version of this for my weddnig reception (made ahead and froze) However I used a can of whole berry cranberry sauce in place of the fresh cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarylandGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joppa, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
I thought this pie was pretty good. It turned out very red due to the cranberries. Mine was also a little dry. I guess I prefer more filling in pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
My husband loved it! I'm not a big fan of cranberries but this pie was great. I followed a different crust recipe that used frozen butter and shortning. What a diffrenece, the crust was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States