Cranberry Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
For Christmas Dinner, I made a chocolate cream pie, pumpkin pie, Grandma Opal's apple pie and this! My family is full of great bakers and we all agreed, this is the best dessert of all! I made it as a crisp, using a 9 x 13 pan, no bottom crust, and reduced the butter by half. No need to chop the cranberries. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Pretty good recipe. I agreed with a lot of people that it would be easier and just as good to make as a crisp. My only suggestion would be to make the topping sweeter, it was a little bland. And maybe do something to bring down the tartness of the cranberries... maybe if I used a different kind of apple (I used granny smith like suggested). Overall it was pretty good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
This came out very nicely for Thanksgiving - I like the tartness of cranberry and will probably add a little more next time. Topping was yummy, but got a little too hard - maybe I just overcooked it. Anyway - I will make this again! I made this again for A GIRL SCOUT BAKE SALE - KEPT A CLOSER EYE ON THE STRUESEL CRUST THIS TIME AND IT CAME OUT PERFECT. I LOVE THIS PIE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca S. Roth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
I was excited about this pie when it was baking the night before Thanksgiving. I typically only use 5 star recipes when I'm trying something new for a public occasion. Unfortunately, my pie turned out VERY watery. I ended up having to stop at a grocery store on the way to dinner to pick up a pie. I have made various pies before and they have turned out well, but since I can admit I'm no Betty Crocker, I tried it again last night, making sure that I followed the recipe exactly. I had the same problem. It does make a great cobbler though! It tastes great, I just couldn't get it to stay as pie slices due to the liquidity of the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This was great. Much more exciting than plain apple pie. I will definitely be making it again. I was also glad this called for fresh cranberries, since most others I found called for canned cranberries. I think I added more apples than the recipe called for (6 apples is not very descriptive as apples come in all different sizes) so it looked like a 50/50 mix of cranberries and apples. After the pie was filled I baked the leftovers as you would an apple crumble and it was also great. This was more than enough strusel topping, and that next time, I will add some chopped walnuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: St.Thomas, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
The pie tastes delicious (I like tart pies, like rhubarb), but I definitely recommend AGAINST inverting the pie shell to bake it, as described in step 1. All this did for me was rip my crust so that I had to start over again. Makes a lot of filling, but that was a good excuse for me to make a second pie. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
I used no crust, but a bit of the topping under the filling. WOW! What a combo. Loved the flavor under vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
I left out the pie crust and put this into a square baking dish to make into a cranberry apple crisp instead of a pie and it was fantastic! The topping is really to die for. I liked the tartness of the cranberries, they will certainly make you pucker a little, if you like more sweet than tart add more sugar or a drizzle of maple syrup. I brought this to a family gathering and everyone loved it, lots of people commented that it tasted like a rhubarb recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Vermont, USA
Living In: Mansfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
I made a version of this for my weddnig reception (made ahead and froze) However I used a can of whole berry cranberry sauce in place of the fresh cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Bachmann Chaney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joppa, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
I thought this pie was pretty good. It turned out very red due to the cranberries. Mine was also a little dry. I guess I prefer more filling in pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States