Cranberry Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Fantastic! I used 3 jonagold apples, 6 oz. of cranberries sliced in half, and 3/4 c. white sugar for the filling. I thickened with the whole 1/3 c. tapioca, but will reduce that next time to 3 Tablespoons. I didn't know if the filling would seep out, so didn't pile it to high (about 1 inch above the rim). I had no problems with seepage, so would heap more filling in next time. This time even though I had halved the filling called for in the recipe, I still had enough to make a small crisp with the leftover filling and streusel topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenthumb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I just love this pie I got to do it in my culinary class. I love how unique the pie is since you really dont see stores selling it. The only diffrent thing I did was that I added crushed walnuts for texture. It really took the pie to a new level. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grandfalls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sadieandleo
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
A huge hit for Thanksgiving!!! My husband requested an apple and cranberry pie for dessert and I tried this one out. I used a ready made crust for ease and that was a great choice. I also didn't not use the crumble topping as my mind was in fifty different places that day but instead just covered the top with a another pie crust layer and that worked perfectly as well. We served this pie with homemade egg nog ice cream and it was a festive and wonderful dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sadieandleo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Made this a few years back and it was good but thought it would be better as a crisp. Made it last night as a crisp and it was excellent! I used 8 Granny Smith apples and followed the rest except no pie crust of course. Oh, I also sprinkled in some cinnamon with the apples/cranberry mixture. Turned out great! Thanks for a yummy and quick/easy recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I liked the combination of apples and cranberries, I also added chopped pecans. I only used 4 apples and half a bag of cranberries, that was plenty for one pie. I found it was not as flavorful as I had hoped and the tapioca made an odd gel consistency that I didn't think fit well with the pie. I think I will try another recipe next time because I do like to combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camp0433

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Great recipe but used less sugar as my husband is diabetic. Also, used a little more tapioca ... definitely a keeper! Julie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I did not care for this recipe. I took other people's suggestions and it was terrible. It never really came together and was like eating bits and pieces of fruit thrown together with pastry. Will not make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
Just the way I remember my mother in laws! YUMMY and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
This recipe is very good and very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
I made this for thanksgiving and my family loved it. it was a nice change from the plain old apple pie. i did add 1/2 tsp of salt to the mix to make it less sweet. i will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States