Cranberry Apple Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
A coworker brought a dish like this to our Thanksgiving celebration at work. However, hers was crunchier so I called for her recipe after I tried this one. Here's the difference: She layers in a 2 qt. casserole - 3 C. fresh apple chunks with peels (I used the bag of tart sliced apples from the grocery store), 2 C. fresh cranberries, 1 1/2 C. sugar (I use Splenda). Then tops it with a mixture of 1 1/2 C. rolled oats, 1/3 C. flour, 1 1/2 C. chopped pecans, and 1 stick melted butter or margarine. Bake covered at 425 for 1 hour. This has a bit fresher taste, has more crunch, and less syrupy-ness. Both are great, but wanted to offer this version made with fresh fruit. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Columbia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
This recipe was a big hit at the potluck I brought it to. Next time: I'll mix the pie filling and cranberry sauce prior to putting it in the pan. I needed to have the cranberry sauce more evenly distributed. I might also decrease the amount of brown sugar since the dish was sweet enough from the pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2002
I made this recipe because I was looking for something different to take to a family get together. I told the family what I was bringing and they all hesitated. It took no time to prepare it that morning. Upon arrival, family members saw it and thought that it smelled great. Everyone raved throughout dinner on how great it was and wanted me to make it again for more family events. Tomorrow, I'm making this for a second time and I didn't have any hesitations when it got brought up for the menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2004
YUM! This was terrific! I'm a fruit crisp fan and this was one of the best I've ever made! I used canned apples-n-cinnamon in place of just plain apple, and the cranberry gave it the PERFECT combination of flavors! I scaled the topping up and made 50% more so I'd have a little extra (I like lots of topping) and it was wonderful! I also sprinkled the topping with cinnamon before popping it in the overn. Really, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
THIS WAS PRETTY GOOD AND SUPER FAST TO PUT TOGETHER. I USED WHOLE CRANBERRY SAUCE AND ADDED 1/4 TSP. CINNAMON. I CUT THE APPLES INTO SMALLER PIECES TO EVENLY DISTRIBUTE, USED COMSTOCK BRAND. I WILL TRY ADDING A FRESH APPLE NEXT TIME INSTEAD OF PIE FILLING AND SEE HOW IT COMES OUT. MAYBE MAKE A CHUNKY HOMEMADE APPLE SAUCE TO USE. I WILL EXPERIMENT. THIS WAS LIKE A DESSERT AND MY HUSBAND REALLY ENJOYED IT. THANKS CHRISTINE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2003
I have never tried making anything like this before, but I am really pleased with how this turned out. I followed the recipe as is, and wouldn't change a thing. It hits the taste buds just right. My husband hardly touched his, and didn't ask for seconds. Oh, he said he liked it, but I could see that he lacked that little twinkle in his eye, the durned liar! Oh well, I'm still rating this 5 stars because I enjoyed it, and that's all that matters, right? heh heh Thanks, Christine, for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
WOW.... We all loved this easy recipe. I also say you have to serve this at room temp.The next day it was even better. Will be making this again real soon ..We did not like it hot ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
One week after Thanksgiving and I still had homemade cranberry sauce from this site (1 c orange juice, 1 cup sugar, 1 bag cranberries). Loved that recipe so much I doubled it, so still had some left over -- maybe about 2 cups or so. Cut fresh Gala apples -- about 4 large ones -- until the consistency looked rather like not just cranberry sauce but somehow more like pie filling -- no spices or additional sugar, then put topping on. I loved it and will always keep this in my recipe file as I hate throwing out homemade cranberry sauce after the holiday feasting is over. Very, very tasty. Needs no tweaking on spices at all. The fruits (in my case, apple, cranberry and orange juice) carry the recipe to perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This was a great toss together and pitch into the oven for something quick, last minute and things I already had stocked in my pantry. Nice and slightly tart from the whole cranberry sauce, crisp topping from the rolled oats on top(I used thick rolled oats) and tender apples and cranberries makes me go hmmmm. Thank for such a quick and easy recipe for any night of the week and not just for a holiday. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This was an awesome side dish to turkey dinner. It paired perfectly with the moist turkey and salty gravy. However, I did change things a bit. I used fresh apples cubed, fresh whole cranberries, and cut out more than half of the topping. I tossed the cranberries and apples in 1 cup of brown sugar and put them in the baking dish. I then combined about 3/4 C of oats and 1 C of chopped nuts and sprinkled them over the fruit. I placed small chunks of butter over top and baked it! Fabulous! Not too sweet and definitely not a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States