Cranberry Apple Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Took previous advice and used fresh apple (instead of pie filling) and combined with cranberry sauce. Delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This was an awesome side dish to turkey dinner. It paired perfectly with the moist turkey and salty gravy. However, I did change things a bit. I used fresh apples cubed, fresh whole cranberries, and cut out more than half of the topping. I tossed the cranberries and apples in 1 cup of brown sugar and put them in the baking dish. I then combined about 3/4 C of oats and 1 C of chopped nuts and sprinkled them over the fruit. I placed small chunks of butter over top and baked it! Fabulous! Not too sweet and definitely not a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Now really; this was NOT a side dish! As an extremely easy dessert, it was great. I will keep cranberry sauce and apple pie filling on hand so I can make this quickly when needed. Even as dessert, it's pretty sweet. Great with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Banff, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Really good! I was really wanting a fruit crisp or pie sort of thing - this was really easy to make and tasty. Like other reviewers, i think it is better at room temperature than hot, and i think it is better as a dessert than side dish. I added some walnuts to my serving and that totally ROCKED! The only think that i might change - i might use fresh apples and canned apples next time - it was a little sweet, but still really really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nittanyjones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
With ingredients which are easy to stock in my pantry, this is now my 'go-to' recipe when headed to a party or for a special occasion. Friends and family rave about it once they've tasted it! I've made it using foil pans so when there's nothing leftover I can just toss it. Although I have found it to need just a little more butter to keep the oatmeal moist. (If the pan is wide enough, I think the juices from the fruit soak in more.) Excellent and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Great change from the plain cranberry sauce. Fantastic with ham or turkey! One of my kids favorite holiday dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
A coworker brought a dish like this to our Thanksgiving celebration at work. However, hers was crunchier so I called for her recipe after I tried this one. Here's the difference: She layers in a 2 qt. casserole - 3 C. fresh apple chunks with peels (I used the bag of tart sliced apples from the grocery store), 2 C. fresh cranberries, 1 1/2 C. sugar (I use Splenda). Then tops it with a mixture of 1 1/2 C. rolled oats, 1/3 C. flour, 1 1/2 C. chopped pecans, and 1 stick melted butter or margarine. Bake covered at 425 for 1 hour. This has a bit fresher taste, has more crunch, and less syrupy-ness. Both are great, but wanted to offer this version made with fresh fruit. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Columbia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Quick, easy, and tasty. I love simple recipes that take no time and this is one of those recipes. As several other reviewers suggested, this would be great with ice cream, maybe with a little caramel drizzled on top. I ate this casserole for breakfast this morning and it really hit the spot. In fact, I think it would be a good breakfast casserole too! I took this to a church dinner and one guy got 3rds! Since it's so easy, I might make it again for Thanksgiving and I may sprinkle a little bit of cinnamon in the brown sugar and oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Very Good, but I used fresh granny smith apples b/c the family doesn't like canned apple pie filling. I also used a mixture of cranberries and cranberry sauce. I ate too much when it was warm. It was very good warm but it actually improves after you let it sit a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I made this for our annual Thanksgiving luncheon at work. Everyone really enjoyed and I believe that it was just so different than anything else that was brought in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States