Cranberry Almond Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This is my go-to biscotti recipe. I add a little bit of almond extract in the recipe too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
These are good. First attempt at biscotti. The gooey texture of the batter kind of suprised me a bit, but no worries: the biscotii came out great. Definitely use almond extract and not vanilla. This makes a huge difference. I followed the recipe but took the advice of another and added orange zest. I also used half splenda half white sugar. Next time I may add semi sweet chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This was so delicious, they came out perfectly! My only problem was I think I overmixed it a bit,and it was so sticky I could hardly roll it out....but that was my mistake! Still ended up being amazing, and I will be making this many more times in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carolmomof3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I just want to say that the two logs you create are only about 3 inches wide but they spread considerably during baking, creating the classic biscottic shapes. I also substituted a little coconut flavor for the vanilla and used white chocolate chips and macadamia nuts. They were VERY tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ezmars

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
This.. this right here is an AMAZING biscotti! I love how there is no oil or butter in it. Biscotti is a pretty expensive treat to come by and I'm elated to know that I can now easily make it! The only infinitesimal issue I had with this recipe was the fact that the consistency of the batter.. was sticky and also NOT a dough. It was more like a sticky cake batter type thing. So, I did not log it. Instead, I let it just spread out as a circle. Either way, I cut it into straight lines and the biscotti looked and tasted FABULOUS! I used both almond and vanilla extract, used half brown sugar, and added 1 tbs of lemon zest. next time, I think I'll just use all almond extract and cut down on the sugar a bit. THIS is my new all-time favorite biscotti!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by star4dance

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
great recipe. hard to work on and set on side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
All my friends know 'I don't cook',but I was desperate. Trader Joe's stopped carrying my favorite biscotti! I found your recipe to be the closest to what we got from the bakery in Tuscany.[& Trader Joe's]The first time I used brown sugar,1/2 vanilla & 1/2 almond extract,but no cranberries.Wonderful! The results encouraged me to try again,but followed your recipe more faithfully except for all vanilla & I'm still experimenting. Thanks as I was afraid I would have to go thru 'biscotti' withdrawal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This biscotti was good, but nothing exceptional. I followed the recipe exactly and think some modifications could be used to improve on it. Next time I'd definitely use almond extract in place of the vanilla, and I'd add some other flavor enhancers (maybe orange zest...) Anyways, good, but not amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I made this recipe for my husband and I to take as snacks on a hike. Upon reading the recipe I found the one tablespoon of vanilla extract seemed to be a little much, so I added just half a teaspoon of vanilla and a quarter teaspoon of almond extract. When I brought the dough together I thougut it a bit looser/gooeier than I anticipated. I found it eaven harder to get it formed into the "log" shape in which it needed to be. I was worried it would flatten out in the oven, but was pleasantly surprised when I peeked through the door, about ten minutes into baking, to see evenything was puffing up nicely. I baked them on parchment so when I removed them from the oven, I just pulled the parchment up from the cookie sheet and moved it, dough and all, to the cooling racks. After cooling, slicing was a breeze and I moved them back into the oven on cookie sheets lined with parchment. Ultimately, the stickieness of the dough concerned me, and I think the use of parchment paper made the whole process easier. This stuff even sticks to wax paper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States