Cranberry Almond Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
great recipe. hard to work on and set on side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
All my friends know 'I don't cook',but I was desperate. Trader Joe's stopped carrying my favorite biscotti! I found your recipe to be the closest to what we got from the bakery in Tuscany.[& Trader Joe's]The first time I used brown sugar,1/2 vanilla & 1/2 almond extract,but no cranberries.Wonderful! The results encouraged me to try again,but followed your recipe more faithfully except for all vanilla & I'm still experimenting. Thanks as I was afraid I would have to go thru 'biscotti' withdrawal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This biscotti was good, but nothing exceptional. I followed the recipe exactly and think some modifications could be used to improve on it. Next time I'd definitely use almond extract in place of the vanilla, and I'd add some other flavor enhancers (maybe orange zest...) Anyways, good, but not amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I made this recipe for my husband and I to take as snacks on a hike. Upon reading the recipe I found the one tablespoon of vanilla extract seemed to be a little much, so I added just half a teaspoon of vanilla and a quarter teaspoon of almond extract. When I brought the dough together I thougut it a bit looser/gooeier than I anticipated. I found it eaven harder to get it formed into the "log" shape in which it needed to be. I was worried it would flatten out in the oven, but was pleasantly surprised when I peeked through the door, about ten minutes into baking, to see evenything was puffing up nicely. I baked them on parchment so when I removed them from the oven, I just pulled the parchment up from the cookie sheet and moved it, dough and all, to the cooling racks. After cooling, slicing was a breeze and I moved them back into the oven on cookie sheets lined with parchment. Ultimately, the stickieness of the dough concerned me, and I think the use of parchment paper made the whole process easier. This stuff even sticks to wax paper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly, but my dough came out too runny to shape. I ended up putting it on the parchment paper and shaping that then freezing the whole thing to get it to hold the shape. Once it baked the parchment just peeled off (love that stuff!) Since I had read so many comments about it crumbling, I used a very sharp serrated knife and sliced as soon as they came out of the oven while they were still on the parchment paper. The inside was a bit undercooked, but I was able to slide each slice onto a clean cookie sheet for the second bake. Amazing, but the finished result looks ok and tastes quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
didn't hit the spot. not much flavor. It looked very pretty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMK1801

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I had a hankering for cranberry almond biscotti and came across this recipe. Definately a keeper! I rather liked the lack of fat in the recipe. The cookies don't need it, they are supposed to be dry. That's the point of biscotti. I did drop the vanilla to 2 tsp. however because I am a cheap cook and I buy good vanilla. 1 Tbsp is a little too rich for my blood for one cookie batch. They still tasted good. I also used whole almonds and that was just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I love this recipe! I found I don't have to change a thing to get them to turn out. I tried using almond flavoring and that worked also. Great treat to go with an afternoon latte!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
these were fantastic. They were very easy to make. I made them for a get together and got tons of compliments. I had a little trouble using my hand mixer as the dough rode up. Next time I'll use my mix master. Also all the tips about keeping your hands wet were right on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shamong, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States